2018 Provincial Young Player of the Year award winners announced

THE Ladies Gaelic Football Association is pleased to confirm the 2018 winners of the Provincial Young Player of the Year awards.

The Connacht winner is Galway’s Chellene Trill, while Aoife Rattigan from Kildare has scooped the Leinster award.

In Munster, Kerry’s Síofra O’Shea is the 2018 recipient while Donegal’s Megan Ryan is the Ulster winner.

Chellene Trill, from the Claregalway club in county Galway, attends Coláiste Bhaile Chláir and she was a double Lidl All-Ireland Post Primary Schools winner with her school in 2018.

Coláiste Bhaile Chláir won the Senior C and Junior B titles and Chellene captained the Junior B team before going on to enjoy a stellar campaign with Galway.

Chellene won an All-Ireland U14 medal with Galway in 2017 before she was player of the match in the 2018 U16 Final victory over Kerry.

Aoife Rattigan, from the Cappagh club in county Kildare, is a secondary school student at Scoil Dara in Kilcock.

Aoife was captain of the Kildare team that won the All-Ireland U14 A title in 2016 and this year, she was superb in the Leinster U16 A Final victory over Dublin.

Aoife Rattigan captained Kildare to All-Ireland U14 A glory in 2016.

Named as player of the match on that occasion, Aoife chipped in with a haul of 1-5 for the Lilywhites as Kildare ended Dublin’s long reign as U16 A provincial champions.

Aoife, who’s also a talented athlete, has won All-Ireland cross country medals with her athletics club, St Cocas.

Munster’s winner, Síofra O’Shea, hails from the Southern Gaels club in Kerry, and she’s a secondary school student at Coláiste na Sceilge in Cahirsiveen.

Síofra’s first football club was Sneem Derrynane, where she played alongside the boys up to U12 level, winning three county medals.

She joined the Southern Gaels for Ladies Football at 9 years of age and having graduated from Scoil Crochán Naofa in Caherdaniel, she continued to make waves.

She captained Kerry to U14 Munster glory in 2016 and she is also an Ireland basketball international player.

This year, Síofra scored a remarkable individual tally of 3-12 as Kerry defeated Kildare in the All-Ireland U16 A semi-final.

The Kingdom may have been defeated by Galway in the Final but Síofra scored 3-6 on the day was unlucky to end up on the losing side.

The Ulster winner is Megan Ryan from the Milford club in county Donegal, and she is a secondary school student at Mulroy College.

Megan battled back from injury this year and featured on the Donegal team that won the Ulster U16 A title.

Megan caught the eye with some brilliant performances in the provincial championship, and she was named Donegal’s U16 Player of the Year, having won the U14 Player of the Year award in 2016.

Megan is also a talented soccer player and she won an All-Ireland title with Mulroy College this year.

All four players will receive their awards at the TG4 All Star awards banquet, in association with Lidl, to be held at the Citywest Hotel on Saturday, December 1.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs