2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Castleisland Fly Kerry Flag


Congratulations to Rathmore who defeated Na Gaeil to win the Rhyno Quality Feeds Div 2A title & gaining promotion to Division 1 next year. Rathmore have progressed steadily the past few years & have gained back to back to promotion in both league & championship. The foundation to the Rathmore win was their dominance in the middle third area with Laoise Coughlan & Jodie O’Sullivan in the half back line cleaning up a lot of ball & providing the first line of defense. Also Caroline Reen in the half forward line was pretty unstoppable winning primary possession & scored some wonderful long range scores & also ran at the Na Gaeil defense to win crucial fees. Rathmore opened up a decent lead in the early stages of the first half but Na Gaeil kept plugging away & were rewarded with a goal from Ayesha Roche to get them back in touch of Rathmore at the mid way point. This startled Rathmore & they replied with points from Caroline Dineen & Caroline Reen. They also had some goal chances but as always Laura Fitzgerald the Na Gaeil keeper was up for the challenge. However Rathmore did eventually get a goal near the end of the first half to give them a comfortable lead, as Caroline Reen followed up the quickest after a great save from Laura Fitzgerald. Half time score Rathmore 1-08 Na Gaeil 1-03. Na Gaeil with nothing to loose threw everything they had into attack & Rathmore were under fierce pressure to clear their lines. Na Gaeil were rewarded for their efforts mid way with a goal from Kate Anne O’Connor & this was followed up with a great point from a Marie Quirke free. Sensing danger Rathmore half forwards funneled back to help defense & win kick outs. It was a strategy that worked as Rathmore broke up an attack & the ball was moved down field at pace. Na Gaeil full back became entangled with Noreen Murphy who quickly transferred the ball to Eileen Murphy Captain who hit a powerful shot to the back of the net, despite the great efforts of the keeper with the power carrying it over the line. Na Gaeil attacked the opposition looking for a goal chance but unfortunately it didn’t come. Final score Rathmore 2-11 Na Gaeil 2-08. Pat Hartnett Chairperson presented to Rathmore Captain Eileen Murphy.


Congratulations to Castleisland Desmonds who had a tricky quarter final tie in the Tesco HomeGrown Intermediate Club championship. They defeated Dunedin Connollys Edinburgh to secure a home semi final against Leinster Champions Kilmacud Crokes 15th/16th November. Desmonds were against the wind in the first half and started extremely well with two goals in quick succession by Andrea Murphy which set the team up for the victory. This was followed by 2 points from Leanne Mangan and one by Stephanie Murphy .The Scottish side upped the anti then as Elaine Guiney corner back saved what could have been a goal .This was followed by 2 points and then a goal for Dunedin & they proceeded to add 2 more points. Castleisland started feeling the pressure a little. Fortunately Leanne Mangan and Lorraine Scanlon stepped up to the mantle & scored a point each before half time to give a half time score of 2-5 to 1-4 to Castleisland Desmonds. The second half started tit for tat with both sides pointing; Leanne Mangan for Desmonds. Things looked settled for the Desmonds when they added further points by Stephanie Murphy, Rachel Cronin and Leanne Mangan. However with the journey perhaps taking effect & perhaps an eye on the next game it started to look shaky when Dunedin put away another goal – leaving just 4 pints between the teams. Dunedin had the momentum and Castleisland were lucky when they hit the side netting. A point from Marion shine helped steady things. This was followed up by Leanne Mangan with 2 more points and Lorraine Scanlon 3 points. Dunedin had 2 last attacks with Melissa Holland in goals pulling off a great save, the final attack adding a point. Castleisland hung on in the end. Final score of 2-14 to 2-6.

Team: 1 Melissa Holland, 2 Marian Shine, 3 Aoife Lyons, 4 Elaine Guiney, 5 Tina Mangan, 6 Cait Lynch, 7 Jane Lynch, 8 Aisling Leonard, 9 Eilish Lynch, 10 Rachel Cronin, 11 Lorraine Scanlon (captain), 12 Andrea Murphy 13 Stephanie Murphy, 14 Lee Anne Mangan, 15 Aine O’Connor, 16 Karen Mangan, 17 EDA Mangan 18 Lee Anne Cahill O’Connor, 19 Alicia O’Sullivan, 20 Shauna O’Connor, 21. Moriah Curtin. Bainisteoir: Billy Mangan, Selectors: Steve Murphy, Dan Kearney, Pa White & Aileen Lynch.


Kerry Ladies will be making an announcement on Thursday evening in the Killarney Heights Hotel re the appointment of the Senior Ladies Intercounty team manager. This follows the end of William O’Sullivan’s term in charge which brought great success to the county including a Division 2 title, promotion & semi final in Division 1, Munster title & All Ireland finalists. Details will be available on the website & social media.



It was another busy week on the development front with 3 U15 Development Squads participating in the Munster Ladies blitz in Mallow on Sunday. All 3 teams played very well & skill development was obvious. Many thanks to the mentors who travelled with the teams. The final day of development squads takes place on Saturday 8th November with both U13 & U15 squads training in Mounthawk Tralee from 10.30-12.30 with special guests attending.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs