2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Armagh 0-8 Mayo 0-9

Bord Gais Energy National League Round4


Armagh 0-8 Mayo 0-9

Armagh’s hopes of qualifying for the knock out stages of this years Bord Gais Energy National League have all but ended following a 0-12 to 0-8 defeat at the hands of Mayo in Keady last Sunday.


The Westerners got of to a great start with points from Lisa Cafferky, Emma Mullin and Cora Staunton sending them into an early lead. Armagh had chances for Shauna O’Hagan, Niamh Marley and Caoimhe Murray and the Orchard girls finally got off the mark when Mairead Tennyson converted a free. Points from Shauna O’Hagan and Caoimhe Murray in quick succession brought the sides level. Armagh were getting plenty of possession but the Mayo defence was strong and they couldn’t find a breakthrough. At midfield Rhona O’Mahoney and Caitlin Malone were working hard while Aoife Herbert and Nicola Hurst were particularly impressive for Mayo during the opening stages. Points from Cora Staunton and Aoife Herbert were cancelled by similar scores from Caoimhe Murray and Shauna O’Hagan leaving the sides level 5-5 at half time.


Mayo started the second half with intent when Cora Staunton got her third point of the day. Staunton then turned provider when she set Martha Carter up to send the ball over the bar. Fiona McHale was shown a red card following an off the ball incident and this seemed to galvanise Mayo. They pied pressure on the Armagh defence with Denise Hagan called to make three super saves and prevent a certain goal. A purple patch for Staunton yielded four points to put her side six ahead midway through the second half.


Armagh fought back though and Laura Brown got her side’s first point of the half following some great play by the forwards. Brown added her second point but this was cancelled by Staunton. When Sinead McCleary was sinbinned the Armagh challenge faded. Mairead Tennyson had a goal bound effort saved before Laura Brown scored a superb individual point but it wasn’t enough to thwart Mayo.


The result leaves Mayo in a strong position to qualify for the league play offs while Armagh will have learned another valuable lesson heading into the derby with Tyrone.


Armagh: D Hagan, C Marley, D Toal, C McCann, G McAlinden, M Moriarty, S McCleary, R O’Mahoney, C Malone, M Tennyson (0-1), S O’Hagan (0-2), S McCoy, L Brown (0-3), N Marley, C Murray (0-2)

Subs: P Powell for C Malone, K Mallon for R O’Mahoney, L Knox for N Marley


Mayo: Y Byrne, S Teirney, N Hurst, M Corbett, C McGing, K Sullivan, S Hughes, C Egan, M Carter (0-2), F McHale, E Mullin, T McNicholas, L McCafferky (0-1), C Staunton (0-7) A Herbert (0-1)

Subs: A Loftus for M Corbett, C Burke for A Loftus

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs