2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Bord Gais Energy Division 1 Round 3 report





By Daragh Ò Conchùir

Dublin continued their impressive start to the Bord Gàis Energy ladies NFL with a resounding victory over Galway in Monivea yesterday.

Gerry McGill’s charges had 15 points to spare over the hosts in the Division 1 game, their 2-16 to 0-7 success due largely to the deadly duo of Lyndsey Davey and Sinèad Aherne, who registered 2-11 between them.
Davey was responsible for 2-3 of that tally, with the two first-half goals setting the tone and giving the Sky Blues a 2-6 to 0-2 interval advantage.

Emer Flaherty and Ann Marie McDonagh battled hard for Galway but with Aherne unerring from frees and play, they could never find a way back.

There was an eye-catching win too for Kerry, who sent Tyrone on the long trip north from Milltown on the back of a double-score defeat, 0-18 to 0-9.

A very fluid team performance pinned the Red Hand girls back and the home side led at half time by 0-10 to 0-4, Patrice Dennehy proving deadly accurate in attack.
Dennehy wasn’t the sole scoring threat though. Indeed Kerry had nine separate scorers, with the brilliant centre-back Bernie Breen and her half-back colleague Aisling Leonard contributing five points between them.
Defending champions Cork fielded just eight of their All-Ireland winning team against Clare and were made to work very hard early on before eventually cruising to 3-11 to 1-5 success.

The Banner girls had the wind in the first half and trailed by just four points, Emer Considine scoring a morale-boosting goal for them.
Mary O’Connor was in blinding form however and the Cork captain and her Inch Rovers clubmate Amy O’Shea shook the Clare net in that opening term. A second O’Connor goal, allied with some nice Valerie Mulcahy points ensured victory for Jim McEvoy’s team.

There was a morale-boosting win for Laois, who accounted for Armagh on a 1-11 to 2-4 scoreline. The groundwork was laid in the first half, when Martina Dunne kicked four points and Nòirìn Kirwan found the Armagh net.
The Ulster side showed plenty of character though and goals from Laura Brown and Sharon Reel brought them back into contention. Tracy Lawlor shot three points to keep Laois ahead though and when Tracy Fallon saved Caroline O’Hanlon’s penalty late on, the win was assured.

Mayo and Donegal provided supporters with a real treat before the westerners prevailed, 4-13 to 2-13. A goal from Lisa Cafferkey and a brace from Triona McNicholas gave the westerners an early advantage but Donegal refused to yield easily.
Nadine Doherty and Nora Stapleton struck for goals and Mayo had cause to thank Fiona McLoughlin for saving Ciara Hegarty’s penalty. With Cora Staunton contributing eight points though and Fiona McHale notching a another goal, Mayo always had enough in hand.

Finally, Monaghan took their second win of the campaign (2-13 to 0-10) against Kildare who along with Donegal are the only teams without a point after three games.


Bord Gáis Energy Division 1
Tyrone 0-18 Kerry 0-9
Mayo 4-13 Donegal 2-13
Laois 1-11 Armagh 2-4
Monaghan 2-13 Kildare 0-10
Dublin 2-16 Galway 0-7
Cork 3-11 Clare 1-5

Bord Gáis Energy Division 2
Tipperary 1-9 Waterford 1-8
Wexford 3-17 Leitrim 3-6
Sligo 2-15 Westmeath 1-2
Cavan 0-12 Longford 1-5
Meath 4-16 Fermanagh 2-6


Division 1 scorers:

Kerry: P Dennehy 0-6(2fs); A Leonard 0-3, S Houlihan (2fs) 0-3 each; B Breen 0-2; L Scanlon, M O’Donoghue, D Corridan, D Murphy 0-1 each
Tyrone: G Begley 0-4; J Donnelly 0-2; C Donnelly, A O’Kane, D McCallan


Mayo: C Staunton 0-8(6fs); T McNicholas 2-0; L Cafferkey, F McHale 1-1 each; C Egan, S Cafferkey, M Carter 0-1 each
Donegal: N Hegarty 0-5 (4fs); N Doherty 1-2; N Stapleton 1-1; E McDonnell 0-3; A Ward, G McCafferty 0-1 each


Laois: T Lawlor 0-5(2fs); M Dunne 0-4; N Kirwan 1-1; M Kirwan 0-1
Armagh: L Brown, S Reel 1-0 each; D Toal, C O’Hanlon(2fs) 0-2 each



Monaghan: N Kindlon 2-2; E Byrne 0-4; C McConnell 0-3; C McAnespie 0-2; T McNally, A McAnespie 0-1 each
Kildare: N Earley 0-3; A Jennings 0-2; L Keatley, D Gately, C Hogan, A Holton, M Moolick 0-1 each


Dublin: L Davey 2-3; S Aherne 0-8(4fs) ;M Nevin 0-2(1f); C Murphy 0-2; K Flood 0-1
Galway: L Cohill 0-2, AM McDonagh 0-2 each; E Concannon, G Joyce, U Carroll (f) 0-1each


Cork: M O’Connor 2-2; V Mulcahy 0-5; A O’Shea 1-0; N Kelly; G O’Flynn, D Reilly, J Luddy 0-1 each
Clare: E Considine 1-2; A Kelly, M Costello, AM Considine 0-1 each


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs