2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League quarter-final round up

Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League quarter-final round up

THE Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League Division 1 semi-finalists were revealed over the weekend as defending champions Cork, Dublin, Mayo and Laois advanced to the last four of this year’s competition.

On Sunday, Leinster kingpins Dublin continued in their rich vein of recent form as they secured a 1-7 to 0-6 victory against hosts Armagh at Clann Éireann in Lurgan.

The quarter-final started 15 minutes late because of a security alert on the railway line at Lurgan but the visitors shrugged off the pre-match disruption and had established a matchwinning lead before half-time.

Lyndsay Davey, a member of DCU’s O’Connor Cup winning team, scored the crucial first half goal as the Sky Blues led by 1-4 to 0-1 at the midway point.

Sinéad Aherne was Dublin’s leading scorer with six points, three in each half, while Niamh Hurley chipped in with the other white flag for the Metropolitans, who struggled in the second half.

Armagh outscored Dublin by 0-5 to 0-3 in the second period but they as Mags McAlinden added four points to the solitary Orchard County score she provided in the opening half.

Elsewhere, Laois recorded what will be viewed as a surprise result by many as the O’Moore County defeated Monaghan 1-11 to 0-12 on home soil at Stradbally.

Laois led by 0-7 to 0-5 at half-time before Martha Kirwan struck for a crucial goal four minutes into the second half.

Monaghan fought back strongly and the scores were level with five minutes remaining before the Kirwan sisters Martha and Mary grabbed the vital late scores to secure the win.

At Cooraclare, Mayo ran out comfortable 3-12 to 1-7 winners against hosts Clare.

Mayo led by just two points at half-time, 1-6 to 1-4, but with the breeze at their backs the Westerners cruised to victory in the second half.

Sinéad Cafferky and Clare’s Eithne Morrissey traded first half goals before Mayo sharpshooter Cora Staunton, who scored 2-5, notched a second half brace.

Staunton struck first after 37 minutes to set Mayo well and truly on their way before converting a 49th minute penalty to put the tie beyond any doubt.

On Saturday, Allstar forward Valerie Mulcahy scored 2-3 as defending champions Cork cruised into the semi-finals.

In a repeat of last year’s final, the Rebelettes proved far too good for hosts Kerry at the home of Dr. Crokes in Killarney as they ran out convincing 2-14 to 1-7 winners.

At half-time, Cork led by 1-8 to 0-6 after Mulcahy’s early goal gave them a crucial early boost.

Kerry were always playing catch-up against rampant Cork, who bounced back in impressive fashion having lost their last two group games against Dublin and Monaghan.

Deirdre Corridan struck a consolation goal for Kerry in the closing stages before the lethal Mulcahy replied in kind for the All-Ireland champions.

Mulcahy was the undoubted star of the show for Cork but Norita Kelly and Ciara O’Sullivan were also particularly impressive.

The Bord Gáis National Football League semi-final line-up will be revealed on Monday.

Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League Division 1 quarter-finals:

Saturday April 4.
Kerry 1-7 Cork 2-14.

Sunday April 5.
Laois 1-11 Monaghan 0-12.
Armagh 0-6 Dublin 1-7.
Clare 1-7 Mayo 3-12.
Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League Division 2 quarter-finals:

Sligo 2-11 Cavan 0-7.
Down 4-23 Wexford 0-5.
Tipperary 1-12 Longford 2-5.
Meath 0-15 Waterford 2-13 (a.e.t.)
Bord Gáis Energy National Ladies Football League Division 3 quarter finals: .

Limerick 3-11 Antrim 2-13.
Wicklow 3-8 Louth 1-12.
Carlow 0-8 Derry 3-7.
Roscommon 5-12 Kilkenny 0-5.

Aisling McGing championship, Senior ‘B’, Round 1.

Dublin 2-10 Cork 3-7.


Cork scorers: V Mulcahy 2-3, J Murphy 0-3 (2f), C O’Sullivan 0-2, B Corkery, N Kelly, D O’Reilly & M O’Connor 0-1 each.

Kerry scorers: D Corridan 1-1, P Dennehy 0-3 (2f), L Scanlon, S Houlihan & M Donoghue 0-1 each.

Mayo scorers: C Staunton 2-5 (1-0, 0-2f), S Cafferky 1-1, E Mullan 0-2, M Carter 0-2, C Egan & F McHale 0-1 each.

Clare scorers: Eithne morrissey 1-0, A kelly 0-3 (2f), N Keane, L Henchy, E Considine & S Malone 0-1 each.

Dublin scorers: Sinéad Aherne 0-6, L Davey 1-0, N Hurley 0-1.

Armagh scores: M McAlinden 0-5, K Mallon 0-1.

Monaghan scorers: E Byrne 0-6, N Kindlon 0-4, C McAnespie & C McConnell 0-1 each.

Laois scorers: T Lawlor 0-7, Martha Kirwan 1-1, M Dunne 0-2, Mary Kirwan 0-1.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs