2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets


Ladies Football Triple Header Draws Championship Season to a Close

The captains from the six competing counties in this year’s TG4 All Ireland Championship finals were present at Croke Park today ahead of the showpiece finals which take place in GAA Headquarters on Sunday 27th September. All three games will be televised live by TG4

Reigning champions Cork are going for their fifth consecutive senior title as they take on Dublin, who will be making their first senior final appearance since 2004.

Cork claimed their fourth national league title in five years back in May and have been in formidable form in the Championship to date beating Kildare and Mayo on their way to the final.

Dublin won their second consecutive Leinster title before accounting for Kerry and last year’s finalists Monaghan on route to Croke Park. Dublin has never won the senior title but has tasted All Ireland success at Minor and U-16 level over the last number of years.

Dublin captain, Denise Masterson, said, “We are really looking forward to Sunday and are going to approach it like every other game this year. We are determined to enjoy the experience and perform to the best of our ability.”

Cork captain, Mary O’Connor, said, “From the Cork point of view this is huge game and a huge challenge. Dublin came back strongly to beat Monaghan who would have been one the favourites this year. Dublin are playing at home and will have a strong support,so there are nerves as with any big game but everyone is looking forward to the challenge.”

Clare return to Croke Park seeking the Intermediate title which eluded them in 2008. The Banner girls have shown their quality by qualifying for the final after last years disappointment and must now face Fermanagh for the Mary Quinn Memorial Cup. Fermanagh have never won a Championship title but their impressive semi-final win over Longford showed they have the pedigree to be contenders in 2009.

The Junior final will be contested by Antrim and Limerick. This is the first time that either of these two counties has contested this title and it is further evidence that the Junior championship continues to be a healthy breathing ground for emerging Ladies Football counties.

Pat Quill, President of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, was present at Croke Park to welcome the captains of the six participating counties and is excited by the prospect of an action packed afternoon of football.

“The Ladies Football finals in Croke Park are the pinnacle of our championship season. The top six teams in the country compete for All Ireland honours on the hallowed Croke Park turf. This is a special occasion for all the players involved and for their family and friends. It is also a celebration of the continuing success of Ladies Football as our game and its appeal continues to grow both at home and abroad,” said Quill

“Each team involved in the finals has a story to tell. They have experienced highs and lows over the course of the Championship and now after all the hard work and heartache they get the opportunity to express themselves in front of their friends and supporters in Croke Park on finals day. This is the dream of any Gaelic footballer and I wish all those involved the very best of luck on the day,” continued Quill.

“We’ve had a great year in Ladies Football and the three Finals on Sunday will mark a fitting end to a hectic and often surprising championship season. Ádh mór ar gach duine ar an Domhnach,”said Pol O’Gallchoir, Ceannasai, TG4

All three games will be broadcast live on TG4 starting with the Junior final which gets underway at 12 noon. The Intermediate final throws in at 2.00pm while the showpiece Senior final starts at 4.00pm.

The All-Ireland Club Sevens take place in St Sylvester’s GAA Club Malahide and Naomh Mearnog GAA Club, Portmarnock on Saturday 26th, September. Over 80 club teams from all over the country will take part in the annual competition on the eve of the Championship finals.


Patricia Monahan, Ladies Football – 01 8363156
David O’Siochain, Pembroke Communications – 01 649 6322/087 936 2440
Michael O’Keeffe, Pembroke Communications – 01 649 6488/087 885 4072


CORK: Munster Final: Cork 6-15 Kerry 0-9; Championship Quarter-final: Cork 4-23 Kildare 0-6; Championship Semi-final: Cork 3-10 Mayo 1-9
DUBLIN: Leinster Final: Dublin 5-6 Meath 1-8; Championship Quarter-final: Dublin 1-13 Kerry 2-6; Championship Semi-final: Dublin 2-14 Monaghan 1-15

FERMANAGH: Group A: Fermanagh 2-6 Cavan 0-12; Fermanagh 1-13 Wexford 1-7; Fermanagh 1-9 Clare 2-6; Championship Semi-final: Fermanagh 2-11 Longford 1-10
CLARE: Group A: Clare 3-19 Cavan 2-11; Clare 2-12 Cavan 2-11; Clare 2-6 Fermanagh 1-9; Championship Semi-final: Clare 3-17 Waterford 3-9

ANTRIM: Group A: Antrim 3-9 Limerick 1-15; Antrim 5-6 Carlow 1-4; Championship Semi-final: Antrim 3-9 Derry 2-6
LIMERICK: Group A: Limerick 1-15 Antrim 3-9; Limerick 2-11 Carlow 2-5; Championship Semi-final: Limerick 4-11 Louth 2-7
For more information:

Senior Championship
· There are 16 counties competing in the Senior Championship
· A Qualifier System was introduced into the Senior Championship in 2008
· Teams knocked out of the provincial championships enter the first round of qualifiers while provincial runners-up enter the second round of qualifiers
· Provincial winners enter the All Ireland Championship at the quarter-final stage
· One team is relegated from the Senior Championship
· Senior Championship Teams: Armagh, Cork, Donegal, Down, Dublin, Galway, Kildare, Kerry, Laois, Leitrim, Mayo, Meath, Monaghan, Sligo, Tipperary, Tyrone

Intermediate Championship
· There are 9 counties competing in the Intermediate Championship
· The Intermediate Championship is in its third year of existence and is a revamp of the old Junior Championship.
· The counties are divided into two groups. The top two team in each group qualify for semi-finals
· The winner of the Intermediate Championship is promoted to the Senior Championship for the following season
· The newly promoted Intermediate Champions are exempt from relegation from the Senior Championship for 2 years
· Intermediate Championship Teams: Cavan, Clare, Fermanagh, Wexford, Longford, Kilkenny, Waterford, Westmeath, Roscommon

Junior Championship
· There are 7 counties competing in the Junior Championship
· The Junior Championship consists of two groups with the top two teams from each group qualifying for the semi-finals
· The winner of the Junior Championship is promoted to the Intermediate Championship for the following season
· The newly promoted Junior Champions are exempt from relegation from the Intermediate Championship for 2 years
· The Junior Championship structure is aimed at developing emerging counties such as Antrim Wicklow and Carlow
· Junior Championship Teams: Antrim, Carlow, Derry, Limerick, Louth, Offaly, Wicklow

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs