Cavan and Mayo name teams for TG4 All-Ireland SFC Group 4 Round 1 clash

2017 runners-up Mayo make their first appearance in this season’s TG4 All-Ireland senior championship series on Saturday when they take on Cavan.

The sides meet in Clones at 2.15pm, in the second game of a LIVE TG4 double-header (Armagh and Monaghan clash at 12.30pm).

It emerged this week that a number of players had departed the Mayo squad but manager Peter Leahy is still in the position to name a strong team.

Cavan will be hoping to make a bigger impact in the All-Ireland series this year after losing out to Waterford in the qualifiers.

The respective starting 15s from both counties have been announced, with Niamh Kelly confirmed as acting Mayo captain for the St Tiernach’s Park encounter, with injured skipper Aileen Gilroy among the substitutes.

Cavan team: 

1 Evelyn Baugh Lurgan
2 Rachael Doonan Templeport
3 Gráinne McGlade Arva/Killeshandra
4 Joanne Moore Lacken
5 Sinead Greene Templeport
6 Laura fitzpatrick St Finbarrs
7 Sinead O ‘Sullivan Lacken
8 Nessa Byrd Crosserlough
9 Donna English Arva/Killeshandra
10 Catriona Smith Killygarry
11 Aisling Maguire Templeport
12 Catherine Dolan Lurgan
13 Aishling Sheridan Mullahoran
14 Bronagh Sheridan Drumlane
15 Ciara Finnegan Crosserlough

Mayo team: 

1 Sorcha Murphy Cill Chomain
2 Emma Lowther Knockmore
3 Nicola O Malley Westport
4 Danielle Caldwell Castlebar Mitchels
5 Rachel Kearns CL McHale Rovers
6 Clodagh McManamon Burrishoole
7 Kathryn Sullivan Castlebar Mitchels
8 Norin Moran Westport
9 Dayna Finn Kiltimagh
10 Sarah Mulvihill Knockmore
11 Fiona Doherty Moy Davitts
12 Sinead Cafferky Kilmovee Shamrocks
13 Niamh Kelly Moy Davitts
14 Sarah Rowe Kilmoremoy
15 Grace Kelly Moy Davitts


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs