Champions Dublin and Galway both show their hand ahead of TG4 All-Ireland Senior Semi-Final

TG4 All Ireland Senior Semi-Final – ET if necessary, Live TG4

SATURDAY – Dublin v Galway, 4.30pm, Dr Hyde Park, Roscommon

Dublin’s fifth successive TG4 All-Ireland senior semi-final sees the Sky Blues and champions pitted with Galway, who they defeated at this stage of the competition in 2014.

That was Galway’s last semi-final appearance but the Tribeswomen have marched impressively into the last four in 2018.

They’re also the only team to have beaten Dublin in a competitive fixture this year, having claimed a group victory in Division 1 of the Lidl NFL.

Galway were also unlucky not to defeat the Dubs in the League semi-final, when Nicole Owens bagged a late goal to send Mick Bohan’s charges through to the final.

The scene is now set for what promises to be a cracking encounter at Dr. Hyde Park, with a coveted final spot on September 16 on offer for the winners.

A victory for Dublin would put them in fifth straight final while a Galway win would see them earn a crack at the Brendan Martin Cup for the first time since 2005.

Dublin have named an unchanged team after sweeping past Kerry at the quarter-final stage, while Galway boss Stephen Glennon is forced into making one change.

Ailbhe Davoren suffered a serious knee injury against Mayo at the quarter-final stage and has been ruled out until 2019.

She’s replaced by Mairead Seoighe in the starting line-up, with Sarah Conneally switching from the inside line to partner Catriona Cormican at midfield.

Seoighe slots in at right corner forward as Galway aim to knock out the holders and progress to the final.

As the race to finish as the championship’s top scorer intensifies, Dublin have a couple of players in the race, but they’ll need to score heavily between now and the end of the season to overhaul Donegal’s Geraldine McLaughlin.

Dublin skipper Sinéad Aherne has 2-20 to date (26 points) and is tied on that number by 2017 Senior Players’ Player of the Year Noelle Healy, who has racked up 5-11 to date.

Dublin team: 

1 Ciara Trant St Brigids
2 Martha Byrne Cuala
3 Deirdre Murphy St Brigids
4 Leah Caffrey Na Fianna
5 Sinéad Goldrick Foxrock Cabinteely
6 Siobhán McGrath Thomas Davis
7 Niamh Collins Foxrock Cabinteely
8 Lauren Magee Kilmacud Crokes
9 Olwen Carey Thomas Davis
10 Carla Rowe Clann Mhuire
11 Noelle Healy St Brigids
12 Lyndsey Davey Skerries Harps
13 Sinéad Aherne St Sylvesters
14 Niamh McEvoy St Sylvesters
15 Nicole Owens St Sylvesters

Galway team: 

1 Lisa Murphy Kilkerrin/Clonberne
2 Fabienne Cooney Claregalway
3 Sarah Lynch Naomh Anna Leitir Móir
4 Sinéad Burke Ballyboden St. Enda’s
5 Emer Flaherty Tuam/Cortoon
6 Nicola Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
7 Charlotte Cooney Claregalway
8 Caitriona Cormican St. Gabriel’s
9 Sarah Conneally Dunmore MacHales
10 Olivia Divilly Kilkerrin/Clonberne
11 Tracey Leonard Corofin
12 Louise Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
13 Mairéad Seoighe Clonbur
14 Róisín Leonard Corofin
15 Leanne Coen Corofin

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs