2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Clare 6-11 Leitrim 1-10

Clare collected their second brace of points in the Div. 3 National League in the space of six days when they recorded a ten point win over Leitrim at Pairc Sheain Ui Eslin, Ballinamore on Saturday last in Round 2 of the Bord Gais Energy competition.

The home side who had defeated Wexford in their opening game the previous Sunday went four points up in as many minutes thanks to their sharp shooter Aine Tighe when she pointed from play within thirty seconds and finished to the net soon after. Eimear Considine got Clare off the mark with a point in the fourth before Leitrim’s Deirdre McDermott and Clare’s Niamh O’Dea traded points. Tighe added another by the 10th.
Niamh O’Dea had her first of two goals thanks to a perfect pass from a free by midfielder Henchy and the seventeen year old Kilfenora girl shot low and hard to the bottom right corner. Again Aine Tighe put the home side ahead with another point before West Clare Gaels Katie Geoghegan had her second point from play to put Clare 1-5 to 1-4 ahead and from here to the half time whistle Clare took over. Ailish Considine who had a fine hour scored her side’s second goal in the 17th and Louise Henchy executed brilliantly from the penalty spot five minutes later after Eimear Considine had been fouled.

Roisin McMahon was introduced in the half back line in place of corner forward Ann Marie Callinan with Clare making a number of positional switches. Kilmihil’s Eimear Considine had her side’s fourth goal of the half and Clare retired in a comfortable position leading on a score of 4-8 to 1-7.

Leitrim needed a good start to the second half and this is exactly what they produced. Their top scorer Aine Tighe again got them off the mark with a point from a long range free and centre forward Sarah McLoughlin an All Star winner in 08 rattled the Clare net. Another Tighe point had the gap reduced to five with only six minutes played and Clare looked in trouble. Full back Carmel Considine who had been harshly sin bined for a yellow card offence before half time returned to the field of play and soon after came the turning point for Clare. With Leitrim driving forward, the inspirational Louise Henchy an All Star nominee
for the past two years intercepted a pass to set up a move which Niamh O’Dea finished to the net and Clare now led 5-8 to 2-9 with nine minutes played in the second half. Niamh Lardner came in to the Clare team for Colette Corry and shortly after Henchy was involved again for the Banners sixth goal. There was a bit of luck attached to this one, she took a free off the ground which didn’t rise too high and Leitrim keeper Catherine O’Brien failed to hold on to the ball which ended up in the net. Both sides availed of the closing stages to introduce a number of substitutes. A few of Clare’s will be hoping to claim a place in the starting fifteen next Saturday when they travel to Bray play Wicklow in Round 3.

For the second week in succession Emma O’Driscoll was solid in goals for Clare. Clare Hester and Eimear O’Connor played well in defence but overall Clare need to improve in this sector. Louise Woods, normally a wing back did well at midfield while Louise Henchy who was moved to the half back line for the second half was undoubtedly player of the match. Ailish Considine, Katie Geoghegan, Niamh O’Dea and Eimear Considine were on top of their game in the forwards while dual player Roisin McMahon also did well when introduced.

Aine Tighe who finished with a personal tally of 1-7 was Leitrim’s stand out player while Claire Ownes, Kirby Gilgunn, Sinead Fowley, Sarah McLoughlin and Deirdre McDermott also played well.

Clare; Emma O’Driscoll (Banner Ladies), Clare Hester (Fergus Rovers), Carmel Considine (Liscannor), Laurie Ryan (Banner Ladies), Niamh Greene (Coolmeen), Eimear O’Connor (Coolmeen), Colette Corry (Shannon Gaels), Louise Woods (Banner Ladies), Louise Henchy (Banner Ladies) 2-2, (1-0 pen, 1-2f), Katie Geoghegan (West Clare Gaels 0-3, Niamh Keane (Banner Ladies) capt., Ailish Considine (Kilmihil) 1-0, Niamh O’Dea (Banner Ladies) 2-3, (0-1f), Eimear Considine( Kilmihil) 1-2, Ann Marie Callinan (Cooraclare). Subs; Roisin McMahon (Newmarket on Fergus) 24th for A.M. Callinan, Niamh Lardner (West
Clare Gaels) 0-1f, 42nd for C. Corry, Grace Lynch (Coolmeen) 53rd for L. Henchy (inj), Carol O’Leary (Newmarket on Fergus) 53rd for K. Geoghegan, Martina Scales (Liscannor) 56th for C. Considine, Aine Burke (Liscannor) 57th for E. Considine, Ann Marie Callinan 57th for A. Considine.

Leitrim; Catherine O’Brien, Mary Farrell, Sharon Kerrigan, Tanya McPartland, Claire Owens 0-1, Anna Cortlan, Kirby Gilgunn, Sinead Fowley capt., Deirdre Ward, Sarah McManus, Sarah McLoughlin 1-0, Roisin Curneen, Michelle Reynolds 0-1, Deirdre McDermott 0-1, Aine Tighe 1-7 (0-3f). Subs; Sinead McWeeney for R. Curneen 20th, Christine Quinn for M. Farrell 50th,
Mairead McCawley for T. McPartland 50th, Roisin Fowley for D. McDermott 52nd, Michelle Glancy for C. Owens, Sinead Tighe for K. Gilgunn 55th.

Referee: Yvonne Duffy (Cavan)

Div. 3 R2 Results

Fermanagh 4-12 Wicklow 2-7

Down 1-11 Limerick 1-5

Wexford 1-13 Longford 1-7

Mary Keane

Clare Adult P.R.O.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs