Committed Munster take InterProvincial title undefeated.

Committed Munster take InterProvincial title undefeated.

A very successful Ladies Football Interprovincial came to
a conclusion at St Loman’s in Mulingar on Sunday after 2
days of exciting football. Munster took the ultimate honours
defeating Ulster, to go right through to win the competition

Final Munster 2-11 Ulster 2-04

Munster opened with the stiffish breeze to their backs and
received the perfect boost when Waterford Player Mary 0’Rourke
had the ball in the net within 2 minutes. Patrice Dennehy
added two points before Aisling Tierney opened Ulster’s
account with a point The Munster girls upped the ante and
by halftime they had opened up a lead of 2-08 to 1-03 courtesy
of some brilliant inter passing movements and some excellent
score taking. Mary O’Rourke added 2 more points, Patrice
Dennehy a goal, Valerie Mulcahy 2 points Mary 0’Donnell
a point. The Munster scoring was closed out in the first
half with an excellent point from 45 metres from Emer Enright
who operated as a 3rd midfielder.

Despite a spirited performance by Ulster in the 2nd half,
the Munster girls were never in danger and while they added
just 3 points to their 1st half total, they limited Ulster
to a goal and a point to run out worthy winners. Munster
under Manager Michael Ryan Of Waterford and with Marie Halvey
Limerick and Peadar O’Shea as selectors showed huge commitment
for the week-end and were delighted with their ultimate
success in what was great football get together. Good news
for them was that their influential centre back Sarah O’Connor
injured on Saturday and hospitalised overnight in Mullingar
was released from hospital on Sunday morning and took her
place in the Munster dugout to cheer her team to victory.


Sarah Hickey Waterford, Donna Frost Waterford
Deirdre O’Rourke Waterford. Jackie Murnane Kerry, Annalisa
Crotty Waterford, Sarah O’Connor Kerry, Julie Torpey Waterford,
Mary O’Donnell Waterford, Juliet Murphy Cork, Valerie Mulcahy
Cork, Rebecca Hallahan Waterford, Tammy Hehir Clare, Patrice
Dennehy Kerry, Kacey O’Driscoll Kerry, Mary O’Rourke Waterford.
Emma Slattery Clare, Norita Kelly Cork, Niamh Keane Clare,
Eimear Enright, Limerick, Karen O’Sullivan Cork, Caroline
Kelly Kerry, Edel Hanly Tipperary, Jean Lucey Cork, Orla
Keane Clare, Ann Marie O’Shea Kerry. Aoife Murphy Waterford.
Anne Marie O’Donoghue Kerry.

Ulster: Martina Glackin Tyrone,Bronagh O’Donnell
Armagh, Siobhan Mcgarvey Tyrone, Aoibhean Downey Down, Clare
Mcgarvey Tyrone, Jenny Greehan Monaghan, Catriona Brady
Monaghan, Michaela Downey Down, Alma O’Donnell Armagh, Etaoine
O’Kane Tyrone, Aisling Tierney, Monaghan, Denise Maguire
Fermanagh, Ann Dooher Tyrone, Katrina Murphy Tyrone, Aisling
Kealey derry, Bridgeen Cassidy Derry, Ann Keary Down, Cathy
Hughes Tyrone, Edel mcGoivern Fermanagh, Cathy Conway Derry,
Paula Fleming Derry, Shauna O’Hagan Armagh, Shauan Vallely
Derry, Sharon Duncan Armagh, Mary Jo Walls Derry. Ciara
Moore Derry, Louise Glass Derry, Theresa mcGirr Fermangh,
Catherine McAteer Donegal, Ciara Mulligan. Monaghan.

In a very exciting plate final Leinster got the better of
Connaught by a point on a scoreline of 2-10 to 3-06

Full results of the Ladies Football Interprovincials
at St Loman’s GAA Club Mullingar.
June 7/8 2003

Connaught 1-06 Ulster 1-06
Munster 4-03 Leinster 2-03
Ulster 1-08 Leinster 0-07.
Ulster 1-10 Britain 0-00
Munster 1-04 Connaught 0-06
Connaught 1-11 Britain 0-00
Munster 2-07 Ulster 0-05
Munster 6-07 Britain 0-01
Leinster 0-07 Connaught 1-03
Leinster 6-07 Britain 0-01

Final Munster 2-11 Ulster 2-04
Plate Final Leinster 2-10 Connaught 3-06

Fr.Liam Kelleher PRO 087-8516984

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs