Connacht rivals Galway and Mayo name teams for crunch TG4 All-Ireland quarter-final

TG4 All-Ireland Senior Championship Quarter-Final

Sunday – Galway v Mayo; 3pm, Dr. Hyde Park, Roscommon (LIVE on TG4 Player, deferred TV showing at 7pm).


In a repeat of the TG4 Connacht final, Galway and Mayo lock horns again but this time in a knock-out championship fixture.

Mayo had players who have since departed on board when Galway defeated them in the provincial decider – but that will count for little at Dr. Hyde Park in Roscommon.

Mayo claimed a morale-boosting victory over Cavan in the qualifiers which effectively booked them a slot in the quarter-finals, while they also proved a tough nut for Dublin to crack.

It was only in the latter stages that Dublin pulled away and Mayo boss Peter Leahy will have taken encouragement from that.

Galway are an expansive and free-scoring outfit but they’ll have to work hard to break through against a well-drilled Mayo.

Having contested an All-Ireland final last year, Mayo won’t want to bow out of the championship at this early stage either.

But Galway are one of the fancies for All-Ireland glory and this is a chance for them to show that they justify that tag.

There’s one change on the Galway team that excelled against Westmeath in the final group fixture.

Catriona Cormican, who appeared as a half-time sub on that occasion, is handed a start as Aine McDonagh drops to the bench.

Leahy, meanwhile, has named an unchanged team from the Dublin game, as Mayo prepare for a return to Dr. Hyde Park.

Galway team: 

1 Lisa Murphy Kilkerrin/Clonberne
2 Noelle Connolly Glenamaddy/Williamstown
3 Sarah Lynch Naomh Anna Leitir Móir
4 Sinead Burke Ballyboden St. Enda’s
5 Emer Flaherty Tuam/Cortoon
6 Nicola Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
7 Charlotte Cooney Claregalway
8 Louise Ward Kilkerrin/Clonberne
9 Ailbhe Davoren Moycullen
10 Olivia Divilly Kilkerrin/Clonberne
11 Tracey Leonard Corofin
12 Caitriona Cormican St. Gabriel’s
13 Sarah Conneally Dunmore MacHales
14 Roisin Leonard Corofin
15 Leanne Coen Corofin

Mayo team: 

1 Sorcha Murphy Cill Chomain
2 Emma Lowther Knockmore
3 Nicola O’Malley Westport
4 Danielle Caldwell Castlebar Mitchels
5 Rachel Kearns Cl McHale Rovers
6 Clodagh McManamon Burrishoole
7 Kathryn Sullivan Castlebar Mitchels
8 Noirin Moran Wesport
9 Dayna Finn Kiltimagh
10 Sarah Mulvihill Knockmore
11 Fiona Doherty Moy Davitts
12 Sinead Cafferky Kilmovee Shamrocks
13 Niamh Kelly Moy Davitts
14 Sarah Rowe Kilmoremoy
15 Grace Kelly Moy Davitts

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs