Cork & Kerry dominate Munster selection

Munster v Ulster - 2012 MMI Group Ladies Football Interprovincial Tournament - Cup Final


Cork and Kerry unsurprisingly dominate the Munster selection for the MMI Interprovincial Tournament with the Rebellettes accounting for 11 players and the Kingdom just one less with 10.

Kerry supply the captain for the occasion as Louise Galvin will lead her province into competition with the like of Cáit Lynch, Louise Ní Muircheartaigh and Sarah Houlihan amongst her county colleagues selected. The recently crowned TESCO Homegrown National Football League Division 1 Champions, Cork dominate the selection with plenty of experience provided by Angela Walsh, Bríd Stack, Annie Walsh and Valerie Mulcahy but yet more evidence of the new, youthful guard emerging through the ranks in Cork is provided with the selection of Roisín Phelan, Ciara O’Sullivan, Orlagh Farmer and Orla Finn.

Michelle McGrath, Karen McGrath and Aileen Wall will represent Waterford whilst Gillian O’Brien is Tipperary’s only representative with the Banner providing both Roisín Howley and Louise Woods.

Despite Cork dominating the sport with Kerry emerging as one of the real powers in the game Munster have not won the title since 2011 and they will be determined to make amends for that this year. Michael Ryan, William O’Sullivan and Elaine Harte make a formidable backroom team that will surely have this side well motivated to compete.

Munster MMI Interprovincial Tournament Squad

1. Martina O’Brien (Cork) 2. Roisín Phelan (Cork) 3. Angela Walsh (Cork) 4. Bríd Stack (Cork) 5. Aisling Leonard (Kerry) 6. Cáit Lynch (Kerry) 7. Denise Hallissey (Kerry) 8. Annie Walsh (Cork) 9. Michelle McGrath (Waterford) 10. Gillian O’Brien (Tipperary) 11. Louise Galvin (c) (Kerry) 12. Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork) 13. Deirdre Corridan (Kerry) 14. Valerie Mulcahy (Cork) 15. Louise Ní Muircheartaigh (Kerry) 16. Edel Murphy (Kerry) 17. Aislinn Desmond (Kerry) 18. Aoife Lyons (Kerry) 19. Aisling Barrett (Cork) 20. Orlaigh Farmer (Cork) 21. Orla Finn (Cork) 22. Sarah Houlihan (Kerry) 23. Karen McGrath (Waterford) 24. Roisín Howley (Clare) 25. Louise Woods (Clare) 26. Emma Sherwood (Kerry) 27. Norita Kelly (Cork) 28. Aileen Wall (Waterford)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs