Cork Ladies Dominate Meath U21

Aisling McGing U-21 Championship – Semi-Final


It was an afternoon to forget for the Royal U21s who suffered a heavy defeat to Cork in the Aisling McGing U21 Championship semi-final in Nenagh on Sunday afternoon. Meath were without a number of their starting fifteen due to holidays and injuries, however they took to the field with determination. Sadly it wasn’t to be and Cork have set up a final date with Dublin next Sunday.


It was Cork who were out of the blocks first registering 1-02 inside the first three minutes. The Meath rearguard were struggling to contain a ferocious Cork attack led by Doireann O’Sullivan. An injury to Ellen Hennelly forced her to withdraw, replaced by Anna Rothwell. Half way through the half Meath began to push forward with Niamh Lister and Kate Byrne heavily involved. Meath were unlucky not to grab a goal on 23 mins when Jacinta Maher’s shot somehow rebounded off the right post and swerved left and wide. It was Cork who were the happier at half time, with a commanding lead.


Half Time: Meath 0-00, Cork 3-10.


Despite the best of Royal intentions, Cork continued the second half as they had the first and had their fourth goal within thirty seconds of the restart. The Rebels attack was relentless although Aoibheann Leahy, Niamh Crowe, Niamh Sheridan and Síofra Cleary were doing Trojan work in tremendous heat. Jacinta Maher put in a terrific effort and was unlucky on numerous occasions not to grab a score. The O’Mahonys player was her usual sharp self and on another day would have had a hat trick to her name. The loudest cheer of the afternoon came on 56 minutes when Aoibheann Leahy grabbed the Royals only score of the game, a point from a free. Cork’s response was immediate, a further brace of points to send them into the All Ireland Final next Sunday against Dublin.


Full Time: Meath 0-01, Cork 7-19


Meath Team & Scorers; Sarah Powderly, Ellen Hennelly, Síofra Cleary, Niamh Sheridan, Laura Griffin, Niamh Lister, Kate Flynn, Kate Byrne, Aoibheann Leahy (0-01), Niamh Crowe, Kelly Harris, Riain O’Keeffe, Naoise de Graaff, Áine Bennett, Jacinta Maher.


Subs: Anna Rothwell for Hennelly, Kate Heffernan for O’Keeffe, O’Keeffe for de Graaff.


Cork: Meabh O’Sullivan, Roisin Phelan, Sinead Cotter, Maeve Calahane, Shauna Kelly, Marie Ambrose, Aoife O’Sullivan, Maura O’Callaghan, Elaine Scally, Gemma Cashman, Doireann O’Sullivan, Áine O’Sullivan, Libby Coppinger, Laura Crowley, Laura Fitzgerald.


Ref: Seamus Mulvihill (Kerry)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs