Cork seniors win second munster

seniors win second munster
CORK 2-15 KERRY 1-8

cruised to their second ever Munster title on
Sunday in Fitzgerald’s Stadium and they didn’t
even break a sweat. Undoubtedly it was the best
performance from the Rebel ladies since the
commencement of the TG4 championship and they
never lulled throughout the 60minutes.
The dominance of midfield was crucial to Kerry’s
chances and they failed to compete with player
of the match Juliet Murphy and Norita Kelly,
who were Cork’s control centre from start to
This encounter wasn’t laced with the usual fiery
rivalry as Kerry lacked any measure of passion.
It was The Kingdom however who opened the point
with a point from captain Patrice Dennehy.
Despite Angela Walsh, Sinead O’Reilly and Rena
Buckley breaking a number of attacks, Dennehy
was unlucky to put her side ahead when keeper
Elaine Harte pulled out a top drawer save to
turn the game. The Rebels were finally rewarded
for their fast direct play and they got the
opposing defence off guard and Valerie Mulcahy
cut through to put the ball in the net.
It was the life line got needed and Amanda Murphy
and Geraldine O’Flynn added points, thanks to
assists from Caoimhe Creedon. But it was the
addition of substitute Nollaig Cleary minutes
before the half time break that saw Cork secure
their second following a great passage of play.

Cleary added a further point and Cork led 2-5
0-2 at the interval. The support expected a
characteristic fight from Kerry in the second
but it wasn’t to be and the Rebels’ continued
to notch points through Valerie Mulcahy, Regina
Curtain, and captain Juliet Murphy. Noreen Feahily
did contribute a goal and a point but it wasn’t
enough as Cork oozed class all over the pitch.
They deservedly retained their title and answered
the critics by putting in the most consistent
performance that could have been asked for.
Cork paced themselves at all times and when
questions were asked, upped the tempo and punished
Kerry for their numerous unforced errors. The
provincial champions will be happy with the
draw to face Meath in the All-Ireland quarter
final series on August 27/28. However they will
be only too aware of Meath closely coming to
knock last years All-Ireland finalists, Dublin
from their perch. It won’t be the stroll in
the park most are making out and we must remember
this was the last significant hurdle Cork fell
to and they will surely want to go one step

for Cork: V Mulcahy 1-4 (0-2frees), N Cleary
1-4, G O’Flynn 0-2 (0-1free), A Murphy 0-2,
R Curtain, B Corkery and J Murphy 0-1each.

for Kerry: N Fealey -1, G O’Shea 0-3 (0-2frees),
P Dennehy 0-2. CORK: E Harte, N Keohane, A Walsh,
R Buckley, B Corkery, C Walsh, S O’Reilly, J
Murphy, N Kelly, A Murphy, R Curtain, G O’Flynn,
V Mulcahy, C Creedon, A O’Connor.

N Cleary for A O’Connor, B Stack for G O’Flynn,
M Kelly for V Mulcahy, E O’Riordan for N Keohane,
M O’Connor for A Murphy.

M O’Connor, G O’Malley, G Ni Fhlatharta, K Gleeson,
N O’Connor, D O’Sullivan, E O’Connell, C Kelly,
M Kelly, S O’Connor, G O’Shea, J Murnane, P
Dennehy, D Corridan, M Finnegan.

N Fealy for D Corridan, S Fleming for N O’Connor,
M O’Donoughue for M Finnegan, K Kennelly for
P Dennehy, J Johnson for K Gleeson (inj).

M O’Connor (Limerick) Player of the Match: Juliet
Murphy (Cork)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs