Cork Take Div 2 title, Galway the Division 3 By Fr. Liam Kelleher.

Suzuki National Ladies Football league Div 2 and 3 Finals.

Cork Take Div 2 title, Galway the Division 3 By Fr. Liam Kelleher.
Cork 2-08 Roscommon 1-07.

Played in miserable conditions with a biting wind and hail showers Cork ground out a hard fought win over Roscommon, to take the Division 2 title in the Suzuki Ladies National Football league at Cusack Park in Ennis on Sunday. Cork playing with the strong elements were slow to settle and found themselves a goal and point down after 7 minutes. Slowly but surely they got back into the game and by halftime they powered their way to a 2-05 to 1-02 lead. Roscommon’s goal coming from Anne Marie Carley. And the points from Stephanie Carty. This was mainly due to the scoring exploits of the eager beaver Jean Lucey who contributed two goals and a point of Corks total, the points coming from her St Vals Clubmate, Briege Corkery, Juliet Murphy from a free, Louise Murphy and Maria O’Neill.

After a shaky opening period in defence where Cork found it difficult to contain a free moving Roscommon attack, Cork tightened up considerably, indeed if Roscommon had taken their chances it would have been a much different story. The introduction of Karen O’Sullivan tightened up the defence and with her 2 corner players Brid Stack and Elaine O’Riordan they proved to be Cork’s outstanding line on the day. Honours were even at midfield where Juliet Murphy and Norita Kelly had a great battle all through with Roscommon pair Natasha Began and Emma Mannion.

Roscommon Capt p and Cork Captains before the start of the Suzuki Div 2 League Final.

Quick Reply.

After the break Cork missed a scoring opportunity and Roscommon replied with 2 quick points, from Natasha Beegan and Stephanie Carty to cut the deficit to 4 points, they missed a number of scoring chances as well. Scores were very difficult to come by and after 15 minutes Louise Murphy got Cork back on track with a point. Roscommon answered with points from Caroline Conway and Stephanie Carty, but magnificent defending from Cork, where their younger players Laura Power and Rena Buckley shone, kept Roscommon at bay. The hardest worker on the field, Briege Corkery cut through for a magnificent point while Valerie Mulcahy scored the insurance point Cork needed.

In the absence of Capt Mary O’Connor who won a National Hurling league medal in the final played at Pairc Ui Rinn Juliet Murphy collected the cup, she also took the award for the player of the game. For the first time in many years Cork had collected a National trophy at Senior level and while it might be league, the championship which has always eluded Cork, must now be their main target. One thing is certain they will need to show, a huge improvement if that is to happen, the talent is there but there will have to be a much better turnout at training when the exams are over. Roscommon on the other hand like Cork were missing a few key players and they too will have to show huge improvement if they are to challenge Mayo and Galway in the West.

Jean Lucey kicks a point for Cork

Cork Elaine Harte, Brid Stack, Elaine Cotter, Elaine O’Riordan, Laura Power, Rena Buckley, Tara Galvin, Juiliet Murphy Capt, 0-01 Norita Kelly, Briege Corkery,0-02 Aisling O’Connor, Maria O’Neill,0-01 Valerie Mulcahy, 0-01. Louise Murphy,0-02 Jean Lucey. 2-01 Claire O’Donoghue, Catriona Foley, Geraldine O’Flynn, Susan Power, Blathnaid Wiseman, Caoimhe Creedon, Edel O’Sullivan, Niamh Keohane

Roscommon. Yvonne Dolan, Ursula Brooks, Cathy Watson, Louis Tully, Christine O’Malley, Anette McGeeney, Mary Beades, Natasha Beegan, Emma Mannion, Emer Casey, Aisling Creighton, Anne Marie Carley 1-01 Gina Dowling, Stephanie Carty 0-04 Caroline Conway 0-02, Feena Berney, Michelle Keegan, Niamh Fallon, Laura Sharkey, Ailish Kelly, Ann Marie Beirne, Michelle Carey, Claire Kelly, Nicola Tully, Emer Tiernan, Olivia Keogh, Grainne Cuniffe, Dinae Dolan.

Division 3 Final
Cork B Give a wholehearted display
Galway B 4-06 Cork B 1-09.

Galway went into this Div 3 final raging hot favourites after dominating every team including Cork in their march to the final. For much of the game Cork gave as good as they got. The damage was done in the first half when Galway playing against a strong wind struck for 3 killer goals. The first after Mairead Kelly had put Cork in front after 10 minutes. Galway were devastating in a 10 minute spell with Naimh Duggan, Michelle Delaney and player of the match Edel Concannon finding the net.

To their credit Cork fought back and with points from Kareina Richards 3, Niamh Hickey 3, and points from Annie Walsh, Emer O’Connell and Triona Lucey they came back to level the scores by the short whistle. The expected Galway avalanche, with the strong wind in the 2nd period never materialised and with sterling defending from Emer Walsh, Norma Kelly , Mairead Kennedy and Fiona Crowley they kept the much vaunted Galway attack mostly at bay. They limited them to a goal and 3 points.

Galway’s Edel Concannon tackles Cork’s Annie Walsh

On the other hand the Cork attack never really functioned in the 2nd half and while they had a few chances early in the half they failed to convert them with the Galway full line of Claire Henegan Deirdre Fallon and Sheila Henagan in control and keeper Una Carrol solid as a rock all through. Galway last years All-Ireland Junior champions, fielded a very young team and deserve great credit for taking the title with a completely new team, Cork on the other hand can be proud of their efforts, after suffering a big loss in last years All-Ireland semi-final to Donegal.

In Angela Walsh they had a player of Class, but the overall strength of Galway carried the day for them. Their fast incisive play made it difficult for Cork to stick to their game plan but the experience gained in a great league run will stand them in good stead for the forthcoming Junior Championship. Edel Concannon was named player of the match

President Geraldine Giles presents the Suzuki Div 3 cup to Aisling Fahy Galway Capt

Galway B: Una Carroll, Clare Henegan, Deirdre Fallon, Sheila Henegan, Marita Fahy, Deirdre Martin Grainne Egan, Diana Murphy, Aisling Fahy, capt 0-02 Edel Concannon 1-00, Helen Carroll Deirdre Heverin, Melinda Kelly, Michelle Delaney, 1-01 Niamh Duggan 2-02 Anne Henegan O-1 Aoife Wynne, Tina Hughes, Anne Henegan, Nora Ward, Mairead Shaughnessy, Helen McHugh, Marie Morris, Sandra Dooley, Nicola Fahy, Una Carroll, Karen Finnegan, Patricia Boyle, Karen O’Connell

Cork B: Mairead O’Sullivan, Fiona Crowley, Norma Kelly, Mairead Kennedy,capt Eimear Walsh Rose Cogan, Annie Walsh,0-01 Angela Walsh, Aisling Barrett, Eleanor Twohig, Eimear O’Connell , O-01. Triona Lucey, 0-1, Niamh Hickey 0-03, Mairead Kelly 1-00, Kareina Richards 0-03 Wendy Walsh, Ciara O’Sullivan, Deirdre O’Sullivan, Gearoidin Kearney, Anne Marie Walsh, Sheila O’Callaghan, Eimear Daly, Jennifer Walsh, Sarah O’Connell, Fiona Healy, Laura O’Mahony, Liz Ahern, Shona Hanarahan, Eileen O’Brien.

Fr. Liam Kelleher PRO 087-8516984 021-48865128
email liamkelleher44

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs