2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Cork tops against Sligo

Cork ladies Football By Fr. Liam Kelleher
Cork Tops against Sligo
Cork 3-14 Sligo 0-03

Cork travelled to Ballea near Ennis on Saturday, to take on Sligo in the 5th round of the Suzuki National league Div 2. Sligo promoted from division 3 last year were expected to give Cork a good test, but by half-time there was only one inevitable outcome a comprehensive Cork win. Cork opened in wasteful fashion with 7 wides in as many minutes, they had 15 in all in the first half, the tricky cross field wind caused them all sorts of problem. Sligo in their first attack sent over a point through Jackie Mulligan to lead for the first and only time. Cork quickly hit back with a succession of points through Mary O’Connor Briege Corkery and Marie O’Neill while Susan Power and Caoimhe Creedon tagged on a goal and point each. Midfielder Karen O’Sullivan closed out he half with a magnificent long range point to give the Rebels a 2-09 to 0-01 lead. The 2nd half was a mere formality and when inspiring captain Mary O’Connor hit the net early in the 2nd half that was really it. Marie O’Neill 2, Briege Corkery , Caoimhe Creedon added points with Norita Kelly contributing another long range beauty. After Cork had withdrawn a few of their players Sligo to their credit mounted a very strong last quarter onslaught, but found the Cork defence excellently marshalled by Fiona O’Sullivan and Deirdre O’Reilly in the pivotal positions in no mood to give them leeway.Sligo added just 2 points through Angela Doohan and Imelda mcNulty to their first half total. Apart from Capt Mary O’Connor Cork travelled without the Donoughmore and Rockbán players who were in Dingle for the Paudí O’Shea invitation Tournament. Donoughmore won the final on a score line of 2-07 to 1-06 after Rockbán helped by the strong wind had led a the interval by 1-06 to 1-01 Cork Claire O’Donoghue, Brid Stack Fiona O’Sullivan, Blathnaid Wiseman, Elaine Cotter, Deirdre O’Reilly, Laura Power, Norita Kelly, Karen O’;Sullivan, Breige Corkery Marie O’Neill, Gene Lucey, Mary O’Connor Susan Power Caoimhe Creedon. Clodagh ODriscoll, Mariead Kelly and Aine O’Sullivan. Sligo Claire Rooney, Valerie Byrne, Louise Gormley, Martina Keane, Joanne O’Connell, Sharon Horgan, Caludia Reed, Michelle McGowan, Angela Doohan,Karen Maloney, Aishling McTiernan, Imelda McNulty, Jackie Mulligan, Niamh Mannion, Siobhan O’Sullivan, Bernie McGowan, Sheena Feehily Eilish McHugh. Division 3. Cork lose their 100% record Galway 0-11. Cork 1-03. With both teams having qualified for the knockout stages of Division unbeaten, they was little at stake but pride in this division 3 clash at Kildorrery on Sunday. Cork were missing a number of regulars, giving the mentors an opportunity to try out some new players. Galway back boned by many of their successful underage players, last year they won the all-Ireland Minor, were runners up to Cork under 14 and 16 and won the Junior for good measure. The essential difference between the teams was that Galway were able to take their points mainly through the efforts of Niamh Duggan who scored 6, wile Cork who had plenty of opportunities created by a solid defence and dominate midfield were unable to take theirs. Galway led at the break by 6 points to one, Cork’s solitary score coming from Jennifer Walsh. In the 2nd half Cork did have a chance when a Jennifer Walsh goal reduced the deficit to 4 points with 10 minutes to go but lack of penetration in attack cost them dearly in the end., with points from Niamh Hickey and Mairead Kelly being their only other reward. Apart from Niamh Duggan Galway’s points came from Michelle Delaney. Edel Concannon, Deirdre Hueverin, and Aisling Fahy. Fresh form their TV exploits the McEllhinney twins form Glanmire Shona and Caoimhe were high profile additions to the panel, only time will tell whether they will make the same impact in the Cork colours as they did on the silver screen. Cork Mairead O’Sullivan, Katie Kelleher, Norma Kelly, Gearóidin Kearney, Mairead Kennedy, Annie Walsh, Anne Marie Walsh, Eimear O’Connell, Sheila O’Callagahn, Eleanor Twohig, Mairead Kelly, Triona Lucey, Ciara O’Sullivan, Niamh Hickey, Jennifer Walsh, Wendy Walsh. Shona McEllhinney, Caoimhe McEllhinney, Deirdre O’Sullivan, Fiona Healy, Gillian Dennehy, Catherine Twomey, Fiona Crowley, Liz Ahern, Eileen O’Brien, Deirdre Bree. Galway. Una Farrell, Marita Fahy, Deirdre Fallon Sheila Henegan, Claire Henegan, Deirdre martin, Mairead Shaughnessy, Michelle Burke, Diana Murphy, Helen Carroll, Edel Concannon, Deirdre Hueverin, Melinda Kilty, Michelle Delaney, Niamh Duggan, Anne Henegan, Margaret Murphy, Helen McHugh, Tina Hughes, Grainne Egan, Aoife Wynn, Aisling Fahy, Marie Morris,Karen Finnegan, Nicola Fahy, Sandra Dooley Donna Kelly, Donna Timothy. UCC Lose out in HE final. UCD 2-13 UCC 0-04 Despite home advantage UCC proved to be no match for UCD in the final of the Higher Education league for the O’Rourke cup. Played in ideal conditions at the Mardyke, UCC were never in the hunt against the holders whose team was littered with Inter-co stars, from all over the country. The Dublin College led at the break by 2-05 to 0-02 and despite a few near misses for goals UCC could never get anywhere near them in the 2nd half. League Starts. Despite the involement of So many Cork players with the A and B team at he week-end a few games in the Co League were played In the Senior section Beara had a good win over St Vals on a scoreline of 6-11 to 2-08 In the Junior League Dromtariffe 6-16 Dromina 1-01. Munster Championship fixtures for 2003. Under 14 June 7th Munster semi-Finals. June 28th Munster Final. Under 16 April 19th semi Finals. April 26th Final. Minor July 2nd Cork V Waterford. Losers of that game v Losers of Tipp/Limerick July 9th. August 7th Semi-finals. August 24th Munster Final. Junior. July 5th Cork V Tipperary at Ardfinnan. July 12th Cork Home V Waterford. July 19th Cork Home v Kerry. July 2nd/23rd Cork Home V Limerick. August 4th Munster Final. Senior July 5th Cork v Clare Ardfinnan. July 12th Cork Home to Waterford. July 19th Cork Home to Kerry. Final August 4th. Minor Blitz Co winners Nominees. October 27th.Under 21 Blitz ( provisional) same day for 19-21. Club Championship Quarter Finals September 27th. Counties must have winners by September 20th Fr. Liam Kelleher 021-4886128 087-851698a

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs