Corkery is the 2012 LGFA Player of the Year

2012 TG4/O’Neill’s All Star Awards revealed

All Ireland Champions, Cork, dominate the 2012 TG4/O’Neill’s All Star team with seven All Stars. Defeated finalists Kerry are rewarded with 3 All Stars while National League Champions, Monaghan, have two. Dublin and Mayo both receive one award each whilst TG4 All Ireland intermediate Champions, Armagh, also have one representative.
Cork’s fantastic half back line are all recipients of All Stars as Briege Corkery, Rena Buckley and Geraldine O’Flynn are rewarded for their great year. Cork goalkeeper Elaine Harte also receives her second All Star award and is joined by her full back, Bríd Stack. Kerry’s Cáit Lynch and Monaghan’s Christina Reilly complete the defensive positions.
Sinéad Goldrick is Dublin’s only representative and is joined in midfield by Armagh’s Caroline O’Hanlon who is receiving her second award.


Sarah Houlihan of Kerry and Cork’s Ciara O’Sullivan both receive their first All Star awards which is in great contrast to centre forward, Cora Staunton, the Mayo superstar who earns her 8th Award.
Monaghan’s Cathriona McConnell is rewarded for her scoring endeavours and is joined by Cork’s Valerie Mulcahy who receives her 4th All Star and Kerry star Louise Ní Muicheartaigh who completes the 2012 TG4/O’Neill’s All Star Team.
The LGFA Player’s Player of the Year Awards were also announced with the honours going to representatives of the All Ireland champions in all three grades. Antrim captain, Clare Timoney was awarded with the Junior Player’s Player of the Year Award whilst Armagh’s midfield powerhouse, Caroline O’Hanlon adds the Intermediate Player of the Year award to her All Star. The LGFA Senior Player’s Player of the Year was awarded to Cork’s Briege Corkery. The Cork legend has now added the accolade to her 6 All Star awards and 7 All Ireland titles.

A highlights package from the 2012 TG4 O’Neill’s All Star awards will be shown on TG4 on Friday, November 18th at 8.30pm.
2012 TG4/O’Neill’s All Star team
1. Elaine Harte (Cork)
2. Cáit Lynch (Kerry)
3. Bríd Stack (Cork)
4. Christina Reilly (Monaghan)
5. Briege Corkery (Cork)
6. Rena Buckley (Cork)
7. Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork)
8. Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin)
9. Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh)
10. Sarah Houlihan (Kerry)
11. Cora Staunton (Mayo)
12. Ciara O’Sullivan (Cork)
13. Cathriona McConnell (Monaghan)
14. Valerie Mulcahy (Cork)
15. Louise Ní Muircheartaigh
Connacht Young Player of the Year Nicola Ward (Galway)
Leinster Young Player of the Yearns Katie Murphy (Dublin)
Munster Young Player of the Year Eimear Scally (Cork)
Ulster Young Player of the Year Emma Smyth (Tyrone)
Hall of Fame Christy Byrne (Westmeath)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs