Corkery wins on the Double at TG4 All Star Awards

Briege Corkery earned her 9th TG4 All Star Award and collected her second Player’s Player of the Year award on a night when the legendary Cora Staunton joined Mary Jo Curran as the only players ever to win 10 All Star Awards.

14 November 2015; Senior Players' Player of the Year, Briege Corkery, left, with Junior Players' Player of the Year Kate Flood, centre, Louth, and Intermediate Players' Player of the Year Aileen Wall, Waterford. 2015 LGFA TG4 Ladies Football Allstar Awards, CityWest Hotel, Saggart, Co. Dublin. Picture credit: Ray McManus / SPORTSFILE


TG4 All Ireland champions, Cork, were the big winners with 6 representatives on the 2015 TG4 All Stars selection. 19 year old Marie Ambrose earned her first all star along with multi award winners Geraldine O’Flynn, Vera Foley, Rena Buckley and Valerie Mulcahy. Briege Corkery was selected for her 9th All Star award and was also selected as the Player’s Player of the Year becoming the first player to win the award for the second time and joining her midfield team mate on both the Ladies Football and Camogie All Star teams.


Beaten All Ireland finalists, Dublin, were also well represented with 4 award winners including Sinead Finnegan and 4 time All Star Sinead Goldrick in the half back line with Carla Rowe earning her first All Star at wing forward and Dublin captain, Lyndsey Davey, claiming her 3rd All Star at full forward.


Monaghan earned 2 All Star Awards as Linda Martin won her first All Star award as goalkeeper in the selection and is joined by Donaghmoyne team mate Cora Courtney who collected her third All Star. Mayo legend Cora Staunton was Mayo’s All Star making it an incredible 10th All Star to move her to the joint top of the All Star charts along with Kerry great, Mary Jo Curran. Munster champions, Kerry, are represented by full back, Aislinn Desmond and Armagh’s young up and coming star, Aimee Mackin rounds out the selection as corner forward on the 2015 All Star selection.


The Player’s Player of the Year Award winners were also announced with Briege Corkery winning the award for the second time having won previoulsy in 2012. Waterford’s brilliant young forward, Aileen Wall, was selected as the Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year whilst Louth’s goal machine, Kate Flood, was selected as the 2015 Junior Player’s Player of the Year on a night when Cavan’s Abby Brady entered the LGFA Hall of Fame.


2015 TG4 All Star Selection


1.       Linda Martin (Monaghan) 1st All Star

2.       Marie Ambrose (Cork) 1st All Star

3.       Aislinn Desmond (Kerry) 1st All Star

4.       Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork) 6th All Star (2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014)

5.       Vera Foley (Cork) 2nd All Star (2014, 2015)

6.       Sinead Finnegan (Dublin) 1st All Star

7.       Sinead Goldrick (Dublin) 4th All Star (2012, 2013, 2014, 2015)

8.       Rena Buckley (Cork) 5th All Star (2004, 2006, 2007, 2012)

9.       Briege Corkery (Cork) 9th All Star (2005, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015)

10.   Cora Courtney (Monaghan) 3rd All Star (2013, 2014, 2015)

11.   Cora Staunton (Mayo) 10th All Star (2000, 2001, 2002, 2004, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2012, 2013, 2015)

12.   Carla Rowe (Dublin) 1st All Star

13.   Valerie Mulcahy (Cork) 6th All Star (2004, 2005, 2007, 2012, 2013, 2015)

14.   Lyndsey Davey (Dublin) 3rd All Star (2005, 2014, 2015)

15.   Aimee Mackin (Armagh) 1st All Star


TG4 Junior Player’s Player of the Year


Kate Flood (Louth)


TG4 Intermediate Player’s Player of the Year


Aileen Wall (Waterford)


TG4 Senior Player’s Player of the Year


Briege Corkery (Cork)


2015 LGFA Hall of Fame Winner


Abby Brady (Mullahoran LGFA and Cavan LGFA)


Ulster Young Player of the Year


Róisín Devlin (Tyrone)


Munster Young Player of the Year


Fay O’Donoghue (Kerry)


Leinster Young Player of the Year


Emily Coakley (Wexford)


Connacht Young Player of the Year


Maria Reilly (Mayo)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs