Donaghmoyne win seventh minor title in a row!!!



Ladies (Monaghan) clinch their seventh minor
title in a row!!!

3-05 O’Neill Shamrocks 0-01 

Donaghmoyne ladies won the minor county title last
week when they beat O’Neill Shamrocks in the final.
Weather conditions weren’t pleasing which resulted
in quite a low scoring game. These two teams met
earlier in the competition, the result being a draw.



However Donaghmoyne were in control of this
encounter from the word go. For Donaghmoyne,
a Niamh McCarthy goal, two points from Cathriona
Mconnell and a point from Fiona Daly ensured
they lead at the break 1-03 to 0-01, O’Neills
point coming from a Danika Tavey free.

O’Neills came out determined in the second
half but could not break down the Donaghmoyne
defence, with great defending from Danielle
McMahon, Cora courtney and Elaine Martin.
O’Neills earned a penalty midway through the
second half, however the excellent Linda Martin
saved and cleared the attempt. Further goals
from Lorraine Daly and Niamh McCarthy, and
points from player of the match Cathriona
McConnell (Ulster’s young player of the year
2004) ensured a determined win for Donaghmoyne
on a scoreline of 3-05 to 0-01.

Captain Danielle McMahon collected the minor
cup on behalf of the Donaghmoyne team.

McMahon, captain of Donaghmoyne receives
Martin,Cora Courtney,Danielle McMahon,Ceire
O’Gorman,Caoimhe Woods,Hazel Kingham,Elaine
Martin,Sharon Courtney,Karen Hall,Lorraine
Daly(1-00),Fiona Daly(0-01),Niamh McCarthy(2-00),Breda
Finnegan,Cathriona McConnell(0-04),Ciara Malone.
Subs:Denise McMahon,Frances Finnegan. 

O’Neill Shamrocks:Rosita Finnegan,Marie
Greenan,Michaela McGinn,Shona Finnegan,Grainne
McKeown,Shauna Finnegan,Lorna Atkinson,Helen
Hughes,Nicola Coyle,Danica Tavey(0-01),Tara
McElvaney,Eleanor McQuaid,Sinead McVicar,Rachel
McNally,Kerrie Malone.
Subs:Joanne McSkeane,Aideen Rooney,Charlotte

McConnell receives the player of the match
trophy from county chairperson Martin McMahon.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs