Dublin 1-15 Laois 0-15

TG4 Leinster Senior Final
Dublin 1-15 Laois 0-15.

Dublin reclaimed the TG4 Leinster senior championship title, and retain division one status for this season, when they over came a strong Laois side, in an exciting final that could have gone either way, with only a single score separating the sides on Sunday last in Dr. Cullen Park, Carlow.
The Dublin senior ladies have now thrown down the gauntlet to 'Pillar' Caffery's men in blue, “To match us, if you can”, as the men from the capital take on the men from the model county today in the Leinster football final.
Dublins top scorer and player of the match Sinead Ahern's goal in the Sixth minute of the game, proved to be the deciding score that separated the sides when the count down started to signal the end of the game, and the start of Dublins celebrations.
While Laois matched the Dubs point for point through out the game, they were unable to raise the green flag when needed to force the game into extra time.
With only two points separating the sides at the break (1-7 to 0-8), the O'Moore girls closed the gap to the narrowest of margins two minutes into the third quarter with a well worked point from Noirin Kirwan.
Was it to be Deja vu for the Dubs ?, when they took their eye off the ball in their semi-final game, allowing the Royal county back into the game.
Well, the girls from the capital answered that question a minute later when they notched up four points, one apiece from Niamh McEvoy, Lyndsey Davey, Ciara Murphy, and Sinead Ahern with out reply from the reigning champs.
Going into the final quarter the Laois girls piled on the pressure as they went in search of that elusive goal, however they were unable find a chink in the ring of steel, formed by Avril Cluxton, Noelle Comyn and Maria Kavanagh, ensuring that Cliondha O'Connors goal line would not breached, so much so that the Laois forwards tried to close the gap by converting points from distance, and the closest that they could manage was the single score that was scrambled over Berni Deegans line by the out stretched left hand of Sinead Ahern in the sixth minute of the game.
Leinster President Bill Daly presented Dublin captain Denise Masterson with the TG4 senior Leinster trophy, while Sinead Ahern received the player of the match award.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs