Dublin Club Championship Finals - Match Reports

Ladies County Finals 2004 Saturday August
7th Parnell Park

Junior Final: St Sylvesters 4-14 Raheny

The first of the County finals on Saturday
was the Junior final between St Sylvesters
of Malahide and Raheny. Both teams had
played each other earlier in the round
robin stage of the championship with Raheny
winning that tie 2-07 to 1-09 however
on Saturday the girls from Malahide got
their revenge and came away with the County
title by defeating a gallant Raheny team
4-14 to 2-05. The difference between the
sides was St Sylvesters Dublin duo of
Sinead Aherne and Vivienne Lee who between
them scored 4-07 of their sides tally.

St Sylvesters now play the Offaly County
champions at home in the first round of
the A.I.B Leinster club championship this
Sunday August 15th.

St Sylvesters team and scorers: Lisa
McIntyre, Sheila Collins, Catherine O’Byrne,
Cliodhna McCaul, Katie Ryan, Orla Moynihan,
Niamh McEvoy, Aimee Hazley (0-02), Sinead
Tracey, Clara Phelan, Melissa Flanagan
(0-01), Sinead Aherne (3-04), Diane McIlhagga
(0-02), Sarah Cloonan (0-02), Vivienne
Lee (1-03). Subs: Laura Murphy for Sheila
Collins, Jane Dwyer for Melissa Flanagan,
Holly Lane for Katie Ryan.
Raheny team and scorers: Ashling
Hayes, Jenny Farrell, Eadaoin Mulcahy,
Aoife Farrell, Eilis O’Leary, Gemma Orange,
Stephanie Jones, Rhona Markham, Niamh
McLaughlin, Helen Connor, Sarah Caulfield
(2-01), Roisin Morgan, Ciara Burgess (0-02),
Marie Fahey (0-01), Roisin Gillen (0-01).
Subs: Jenny Farrell, Catriona Ni Dhonnchu,
Michelle Markham, Ciara Brody.
Player of the Match: Sinead Aherne
(St Sylvesters)
Match Referee: Finbarr O’Driscoll
(Naomh Olaf)

Intermediate Final: Fingallians 2-18 Man-O-War

Many ladies Gaelic football pundits called
this one wrong as they had predicted that
this would be the closest fought of the
three finals however the young ladies
from Fingallians had other ideas and gave
a display of magnificent football too
which Man-O-War had no response. Fingallians
were excellent in all areas of the pitch
and indeed where ten points ahead at the
interval. Man-O-War who are famed for
their second half fight backs never got
going and appeared to be dead on their
feet. Dublin star Niamh Hurley tried hard
for Man-O-War but the gap between both
sides was just too wide for her and team
mates to try and close. Fingallians Aoife
Greene, Sinead Finnegan, Natasha Barnwell
and Fiona Hudson where superb and if Fingallians
can keep this standard of football going
then they will duly enjoy the challenge
of senior football next season.

Meanwhile Fingallians face the Louth champions
in the first round of the A.I.B Leinster
club championship this Sunday August 15th.

Fingallians team and scorers: Sarah
Campbell, Nicola Fitzgerald, Aoife Greene,
Natasha Galvin, Laura Keely, Karen Hudson
(0-02), Deborah Doherty, Sinead Finnegan,
Amy McGuinness (1-03), Fiona Hudson (1-02),
Natasha Barnwell(0-04), Catherine Keaney(0-03),
Denise McKenna (0-03), Emma Hatton, Laura
McGahan (0-01). Subs: Linda Walsh for
Emma Hatton.
Man-O-War team and scorers: Caroline
Hughes, Fionnuala Sheridan, Karen Moore,
Siobhain O’Connor, Ann Sheridan, Olive
Whyte, Lisa Moore, Deirdre Sheridan, Niamh
Hurley(1-05), Laura Griffin, Cheryl Richardson,
Tracy Fleming, Adrienne Moore (0-01),
Sinead Murphy, Maria Whyte (0-01). Subs:
Kelli Ann Lewis for Lisa Moore.
Player of the Match: Sinead Finnegan
Match Referee: Andrew McAllister

Senior Final: Ballyboden St Endas 2-15
Naomh Mearnog 1-07

Ballyboden St Endas won their fifth consecutive
Dublin senior County title last Saturday
but their eleven point winning margin
was not a true reflection on a game that
was a good hard fought contest. Ballyboden
where pushed hard by a spirited Naomh
Mearnog side who had they had more believe
upfront could have caused an upset. However
Ballyboden forwards Lisa Smith, Sarah
Denvir and Louise Kelly where in superb
form as was centre half back Fiona Ne
Nic Chorcoráin and their combined performances
was a significant factor in Ballyboden
being crowned champions of Dublin for
a firth time.

Mearnog’s inspirational player Orla Colreavy
played the first half of the game her
first since picking up a bad knee injury
back in April, Colreavy and her midfield
partner Katie Joyce along with Shelley
Eades and Emma Dunne caused a lot of problems
for Ballyboden’s midfield duo of Martina
Farrell and Diane Spillane by crowding
the centre of the pitch and mopping any
loose ball that came their way. As stated
previously if Mearnog had more confidence
up front they could have caused Ballyboden
problems as it was they squandered a lot
of possession by kicking wide and they
also had the misfortune of having a penalty
kicked wide by Emma Dunne at a crucial
stage in the second half. Ballyboden always
had a look of champions about them and
will be firm favourites to recapture the
Leinster crown that they lost to Senchalstown
of Meath last year but first they must
over come the champions of Laois in the
first round of the A.I.B club championship
which is due to be played on Sunday next
the 15th of August.

Ballyboden St Endas team and scorers:
Suzanne Hughes, Sorcha Timmins, Noelle
Comyn, Sorcha Farrelly, Aisling Farrelly,
Fiona Ne Nic Chorcoráin (0-02), Joanne
O’Sullivan, Martina Farrell, Diane Spillane,
Gemma Fay(1-02), Karen Hopkins (0-01),
Louise Kelly (0-04), Lisa Smith (0-03),
Tonya Allen, Sarah Denvir (1-02). Subs:
Eveleen Kehoe (0-01) for Sorcha Farrelly,
Ceara Nic Coitir for Karen Hopkins, Helen
Barr for Lisa Smith, Charlene McKenna
for Suzanne Hughes. Naomh
Mearnog team and scorers: Cliodhna
O’Connor, Thressa McConnell, Catriona
Power, Maeve Redmond, Dearbhla Crowe,
Andrea Fitzpatrick, Ann Clarke, Orla Colreavy,
Katie Joyce, Deirdre Raftery (1-01), Emma
Dunne (0-03), Shelley Eades, Karen Kennedy
(0-01), Donna Mulligan (0-02), Deirdre
Magill. Subs: Carol Rock for Orla Colreavy.

Player of the Match: Karen Hopkins
(Ballyboden St Endas)
Match Official: Joe Murray (Castleknock)

St Endas – Click to enlarge
– Click to enlarge
Mearnog – Click to enlarge

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs