Dublin dominate All-Star Awards

Senior All Ireland winners Dublin collected six All Star awards at the 2010 O’Neills/TG4 Ladies Gaelic Football All-Star Awards at the CityWest Hotel saturday tonight.

All Ireland Senior champions were rewarded for winning their first All Ireland championship title with Rachel Ruddy, Siobhan McGrath, Gemma Fay, Denise Masterson, Amy McGuinness and Sinead Aherne all picking up awards for the Jackies.

2010 Award Winners

All Ireland runners up Tyrone collected a deserved four All Stars on the night with awards going to captain Sinead McLaughlin, Golden Boot winner Gemma Begley and sisters Cathy and Joline Donnelly.

There were two All Stars for Laois with both Lorraine Muckian and Tracey Lawlor picking up awards. The remaining All Stars went to Brid Stack of Cork, Donegal’s Yvonne McMonagle and Kerry goalkeeper Edel Murphy.

GAA president Christy Cooney was the guest of honour at the prestigious event which was filmed live for deferred airing on TG4. Entertainment was provided on the night by Frances Black, Tommy Flemming, the Ennis Gospel Choir and World champion bodhrán player Amy Farrell while Marty Morrissey and Daithi O’Sé orchestrated proceedings.

The Young Players of the Year Awards went to Sarah Rowe (Kilmoremoy, Ballina, Mayo – CONNACHT), Sarah McCaffery (Clontarf, Dublin – LEINSTER), Nicole O’Connor (Ballyduff/Abbeydorney, Kerry – MUNSTER) and Kirsty McGuinness (St. Pauls, Antrim – ULSTER).



Pól O’Gallchóir, Ceannasaí TG4, said, “It has been another historic and ground-breaking year for the partnership between TG4 and Cumann Peil Gael na mBan. We got off to a great start with the memorable All Star trip to San Francisco and then the football season began in earnest in Spring. We witnessed many thrilling finishes during the year, two of them on All-Ireland Final day with those present in Croke Park and TG4 viewers all on the edge of their seats right till the final hooter.”

2010 ALL STARS TEAM: 1. Edel Murphy (Kerry) 2. Rachel Ruddy (Dublin) 3. Lorraine Muckian (Laois) 4. Sinead McLaughlin (Tyrone) 5. Siobhan McGrath (Dublin) 6. Brid Stack (Cork) 7. Gemma Fay (Dublin) 8. Denise Masterson (Dublin) 9. Tracey Lawlor (Laois) 10. Cathy Donnelly (Tyrone) 11. Gemma Begley (Tyrone) 12. Amy McGuinness (Dublin) 13. Yvonne McMonagle (Donegal) 14. Sinead Aherne (Dublin) 15.1 Joline Donnelly (Tyrone)

All the All Star nominees on the night


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs