Dublin Have Too Much For Tyrone

Fiona Hudson & Cathy Donnelly


Dublin 3-19 Tyrone 0-05


Dublin ladies clocked up their third win in the 2015 TESCO NFL today with a 23 point win over a Tyrone side who have yet to hit top form.

Tyrone, playing against the strong wind in the first half, dropped deep in an effort to limit the space available to Dublin’s pacey forward line.  To their credit Dublin’s work rate, especially in the opening 30 minutes, was impressive. Gregory McGonigle’s charges often had to hold onto possession and build up patiently from their own back line before a shooting position would open up for them.

Up front Amy Connolly, Hannah Noonan, Carla Rowe and Lyndsey Davey were very creative for the sky blues. Their constant movement causing the Tyrone defence much consternation.

Lyndsey Davey and Hannah Noonan scored Dublin’s first half goals with the home team taking a 2-11 to 0-03 lead into the dressing room at half time.  Carla Rowe was on target with a couple of first half frees while Sinead Goldrick, Niamh McEvoy, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens and Amy Connolly raised the white flag for the sky blues.

Tyrone struggled to make inroads into the Dublin lead after half time as the hosts limited the room available to Tyrone’s attackers. The match was ended as a contest in the 49th minute when Dublin captain, Lyndsey Davey, scored her side’s third goal.

Neamh Woods, Angie McShane and Joline Donnelly tried hard throughout the 60 minutes for their side, however try as they might the gulf between the sides was evident from the throw in. Tyrone now have to beat Laois in the final round game of the NFL on April 12th to maintain their top flight status.

An away game to Cork is up next for the Dubs on April 12th in a repeat of the 2014 NFL decider.


Dublin: Ciara Trant, Olwen Carey, Sorcha Furlong, Fiona Hudson, Sinead Goldrick, Sinead Finnegan, Niamh Collins, Niamh McEvoy, Sarah McCaffrey, Amy Connolly, Hannah Noonan, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens, Lyndsey Davey, Carla Rowe


Dublin Subs: Molly Lamb for Sinead Goldrick, Sinead O’Mahony for Fiona Hudson, Kim flood for Nicole Owens, Olivia Leonard for Niamh McEvoy, Muireann Ní Scanaill for Sorcha Furlong


Dublin Scorers: Lyndsey Davey 2-02, Carla Rowe 0-06 (4f), Hannah Noonan 1-01, Amy Connolly 0-03, Sarah McCaffrey 0-02, Sinead Goldrick, Niamh McEvoy, Noelle Healy, Nicole Owens, Olivia Leonard 0-01 each


Tyrone: Niamh McKenna, Karen Quinn, Christiane Hunter, Emma Louise Mulgrew, Grainne Rafferty, Neamh Woods, Maria Donnelly, Michaela McGuigan, Gemma Begley, Joline Donnelly, Emma Smyth, Zoe Loughern, Angie McShane, Cathy Donnelly, Tori McLaughlin


Tyrone Sub: Siobhan Sheerin for Cathy Donnelly


Tyrone Scorers: Joline Donnelly 0-02, Michaela McGuigan, Zoe Loughern, Cathy Donnelly 0-01 each


Referee: Yvonne Duffy (Cavan)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs