2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Dublin pipped at the post again in TG4 Championship

Tg4 Junior Leinster Championship – Round One
Dublin 2-09 Wexford 3-09 O’Toole Park, Dublin 9th May 2004.

For the second time in two weeks Dublin were piped at the
post with a solitarily goal being the difference between the
Dub’s and Wexford in this first round championship clash which
was played in superb playing conditions in Dublin’s second
County ground O’Toole Park. Wexford got on the score board
first and went three points clear before Dublin relaxed following
a superb point from the in form Angela Gallagher. Dublin added
another point courtesy of midfielder Louise Kidd. However
Wexford hit back straight away with two well worked goals
from midfield. Dublin didn’t panic and soon replied with a
super long range point from Ciara Burgess who was having a
great tussle with Wexford captain Laura Corrrigan.

Dublin piled on the pressure and where awarded for their efforts
when Angela Gallagher found the back of the Wexford net. Wexford
had a couple of goal chances foiled by Dublin keeper Caroline
Hughes who was in superb form between the Dublin posts. Nichola
Murphy was also outstanding in the Dublin half back line.
Half time score Dublin 1-04 Wexford 2-04 The second half was
as dramatic as the first with both sides exchanging scores
with Dublin corner forward Angela Gallagher taking further
points both from play and from frees.

Fifteen minutes into the second half Wexford were awarded
a controversial penalty When Dublin keeper Caroline Hughes
was punished for failing to clear the ball but with three
Wexford forwards applying pressure the Dub’s keeper could
do little else but hold on for dear life. The drama continued
when Hughes saved the penalty shot from Wexfords Laura Corrigan.
Hughes bravery between the posts lifted her team and the Dublin
supporters who egged their team on. Dublin applied further
pressure on the Wexford goal and where unlucky not to be awarded
a penalty when Louise Kane was pushed from behind in the small
square as she took a shot on goal. Dublin’s protest seemed
to fall on deaf ears when referee Liam Terrett gave a free
out thus dismissing Dublin’s cries for a penalty. Dublin went
on to add on another point from Anna McGillicuddy however
time was ticking when Wexford struck with a further goal this
came as Dublin were reduced to 14 player’s following the dismissal
of Dublin’s Nichola Murphy to the sin bin for a jersey pull
on Wexford forward Ciara Scallan.

Dublin had given their all but where foiled at the end by
a more experienced cuter Wexford side. Dublin now turn their
sights to Wicklow who they play on the 23rd of May as part
of a double bill with the Dublin senior team playing Meath
on the same day. Both games are fixed for Naomh Mearnog pitch
in Portmarnock – Junior game 2.00pm senior at 3.30pm.

Dublin Team v Wexford: Caroline Hughes, Gemma Orange,
Tressa McConnell, Lisa Moore, Nichola Murphy, Avril Cluxton,
Una McKay Capt, Louise Kidd, Denise Masterson, Ciara Burgess,
Roisin Staunton, Ann Clarke, Angela Gallagher, Lynsey Kilmurray,
Anna McGillicuddy.
Scorers: Angela Gallagher 1-06, Helena Reddy 1-00,
Ciara Burgess 0-01, Louise Kidd 0-01, Anna McGillicuddy 0-01.

Subs: Fiona Walsh for Tressa McConnell, Vivienne Naughton
for Roisin Staunton, Louise Kane for Lynsey Kilmurray, Ciara
Kilpatrick for Ann Clarke, Helena Reddy for Vivienne Naughton.

Dublin Panel: Sandra McEvoy, Jenny Weldon, Kim Masterson,
Lorena Aver, Jeanette Beirnes, Elena Griffin, Patricia Gordan,
Ann Hunt
Dublin Management: Pat Lynch, Sean Walsh, Bernice Jones
Moore, Patricia Monahan, Philip Brady. Wexford Team v Dublin:
Nicola Scully, Eveleen Kehoe, Lorraine O’Grady, Ceara O’Brien,
Martina Murray, Nicki Scallan, Laura Corrigan, Michelle Hearne,
May O’Gorman, Ali Evenedd, Caroline Murphy, Liz Evenedd, Leona
Tector, Maeve Quill, Ciara Scallan.
Dublin Player of the Match: Caroline Hughes (Man-O-War).

Referee: Liam Terrett (Laois)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs