2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Eadestown (Kildare) 0-10 Emyvale (Monaghan) 2-4

Eadestown (Kildare) 0-10

Emyvale (Monaghan) 2-4


Eadestown and Emyvale will have to do it all again
next week after a hugely entertaining Vhi All-Ireland club ladies
JFC final at Dromard yesterday.

The Monaghan side got the perfect start when Ulster U16 player of
the year, Ciara McAnespie’s floating shot found the back of the
net but Eadestown regained their composure to shoot seven successive
points from Siobhán O’Sullivan (two), Bridget Goode (two),
Cliona Dowling, Leah Purcell and Denise McDonagh.

Goode also had a penalty saved by former Farney star, Brenda McAnespie
– mother of Ciara and her twin sister Aoife, who played at wing-back
– while Eadestown spurned numerous other scoring opportunities to
extend their advantage.

A Laura Askin point left Emyvale trailing by 0-7 to 1-1 at the interval
and when they resumed with a goal and two points in the first five
minutes of the second half – the goal coming once again from Ciara
McAnespie – they were looking the likeliest winners, particularly
as they had the benefit of a stiffening wind to back them up.

Eadestown showed tremendous character to peg them back, however,
although they continued to be profligate in attack once they regained
a foothold around midfield, despite a player of the match performance
in that area from Emyvale’s Lisa Hughes.

Points from Dowling and Purcell kept them in touch and it was Dowling
who secured the equaliser with five minutes remaining.

Eadestown: F Byrne; D Boylan, S Boylan, S Tierney; D Tierney, A
Lyons, S McLoughlin; E Delaney, G O’Gara; A Herbert, S O’Sullivan
(0-2), L Purcell (0-2, 1f); D McDonagh (0-1), B Goode (0-2), C Dowling
(0-3). Subs: A Jebb for Byrne; S Smith for Goode.

Emyvale: S Mohan, M Flood, A O’Brien, A McDonald; T Curley, P McKenna,
A McAnespie; L Hughes, N Fahy, C McAnespie (2-0), B McAnespie, A
McKenna; C McAree (0-2, 1f), E O’Neill (0-1f), L Askin (0-1). Subs:
H Bowe for B McAnespie; B McAnespie for A McKenna; M Colleran for

Referee: D Corcoran (Mayo).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs