Galway Progress to Minor Decider

Dublin v Galway - All-Ireland Ladies Minor A Championship Final Replay

DUBLIN 1-07    GALWAY 2-10


People were saying it was going to be a classic. Galway, the champions, after snatching victory from the jaws of defeat in 2013. Dublin, out for revenge. Instead, although the scoreline might not suggest it, it was alot easier for the ladies from the west. Biggest dissappointment for the  Galway management was the number of wides, 18 in total, and they know well that the girls cannot afford to miss that many chances in the final.

The game started in dry conditions but within 2 mins the sky opened and caused a downpour that lasted for the remainder of the game. This made playing conditions difficult for both sibes. Such was Galway’s dominance in the opening stages that it was the 10th min before their full back line had any defending to do and it was the 17th minute before Dublin scored their 1st point from Eabha Rutledge. Before that Emma Reany(3) and Ciana Ni Churraoin(2) had Galway in a commanding lead. A free by Emma Colgan narrowed the gap  in the 19th min before the Caltra Cuans sharp-shooter Reany added her 4th point in the 21st min. A brillant run and shot by Louise Ward brought a fantastic save from the Dublin goal- keeper but Clonbur’s Aoibhinn Joyce was in the correct spot to drill  the rebound home. Dublin closed the half with a point by Katie Murphy  to leave the half-time score at Dublin 0-04   Galway 1-06.

Both sides made changes for the 2nd half with Stacy Flood replacing Rachel Brogan in midfield  for Dublin while Katie Carter replaced Ciara Burke for Galway.  Holly Greer opened the scoring for Dublin with a point in the 1st minute while at the other end Aoibhinn Joyce had a chance to get Galway’s 2nd goal but she was crowded out by the Dubs defence. Although Galway were winning the posession game it was not showing on the score board and following  2 pointed frees by Emma Colgan, Dublin soon found themselves only 2 points down. Ciara Lynagh was introduced for Ciana Ni Churraoin in a bid to get some much needed scores but Dublin’s Amy Conroy made a brillant run through the Galway defence only for Saoirse Burke to make a fantastic save.

It was the 10th minute before Galway got their 1st point by Olivia Divilly and again Galway had most of the posession without adding to the scoreline. Luckily for them neither did Dublin and in the 23rd minute of the half Divilly added a free to increase the Galway lead. Aoibhinn Joyce got her 2nd goal in the 24th minute and Emma Reany added a point a minute later as Galway eventully found their scoring boots and although Dublin’s Amy Conroy got a late goal, Olivia Divilly tapped over  a free to leave the final score at Dublin 1-07 Galway 2-10. They now play Cork in the final on Monday 4th August.


GALWAY:  Saoirse Burke, Shauna Hynes, Eimile Gavin, Michelle Gavin, Karen Dowd, Nicola Ward, Megan Glynn, Megan Heneghan, Siobhan Gavin, Olivia Divilly(0-03,2 frees), Louise Ward,capt, Ciara Burke, Emma Reany(0-06), Aoibhinn Joyce(2-00) Ciana Ni Churraoin(0-02).

SUBS: Katie Carter for Ciara Burke, Ciara Lynah for Ciana Ni Churraoin, Orla Murphy for Siobhan Gavin, Faye Mahon for Emma Reany, Rebecca Mongan for Aoibhinn Joyce.



Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs