Here are the Westmeath and Monaghan teams for Sunday's Lidl NFL Division 1 clash

WESTMEATH avoided the drop to the Division 2 last term but will need a big improvement this year to steer clear of the relegation zone again.

Sean Finnegan has taken over the reins from Stephen Maxwell and he’s been handed a home fixture in Round 1.

Visitors Monaghan are also under new management in the form of Niall Treanor and they have a formidable midfield partnership in Muireann Atkinson and captain Cora Courtney.

Ciara McAnespie remains as lethal as ever in the Monaghan inside line, while Westmeath will hope for the experienced Maud Annie Foley and Leanne Slevin to provide some attacking impetus.

In a strong Division 1, these are two teams who will hope first and foremost to steer clear of relegation trouble.

A strong start is vital for both sides and this promises to be a competitive fixture on Sunday.

Westmeath team: 

1 Karen Walsh Milltown
2 Rachel Dillon Milltown
3 Jennifer Rogers Milltown
4 Lucy Power The Downs
5 Fiona Coyle St Marys Rochfortbridge
6 Karen McDermott St Marys Rochfortbridge
7 Fiona Claffey Foxrock Cabinteely
8 Kelly Boyce Jordan Milltown
9 Vicky Carr St Lomans
10 Lucy McCartan St Lomans
11 Leanne Slevin Milltown
12 Jo-hanna Maher Tyrrellspass
13 Sarah Dolan Garrycastle
14 Anna Jones Mullingar Shamrocks
15 Maud-Annie Foley Coralstown/Kinnegad

Monaghan team: 

1 Alanna Mc Carey Scotstown
2 Lisa Flynn Scotstown
3 Shauna Coyle Latton
4 Hannah Mc Skane O’Neill Shamrocks
5 Niamh Kerr O’Neill Shamrocks
6 Aoife Mc Anespie Emyvale (VC)
7 Casey Treanor Scotstown
8 Muireann Atkinson O’Neill Shamrocks
9 Rosemary Courtney Donaghmoyne
10 Abbie Mc Carey Scotstown
11 Cora Courtney Donaghmoyne (C)
12 Eimear Mc Anespie Emyvale
13 Eva Woods Corduff
14 Leanne Maguire Mageracloone
15 Ciara Mc Anespie Emyvale

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs