2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Kerry Ladies Dethrone Cork in Munster

Kerry produced a near flawless performance to defeat Cork in the Munster Championship Final.

They defeated Cork on a scoreline of Cork 2-04 Kerry 2-13. Kerry went 3 points clear in the opening minutes with superb long range point taking from Louise Ní Mhuircheartaigh  & Sarah Houlihan. Valerie Mulcahy got Cork on the scoreboard after 7  mins with a point from a free. Kerry were then unfortunate as Cork scored a goal from a deflection off a Kerry defender. However, rather than panic Kerry again took the game to Cork & tacked on further scores through Louise, Sarah, Bernie Breen, Patrice Dennehy & Megan O’Connell.  Kerry were well in the ascendency approaching half time, but a turnover of possession lead to Cork speeding down the field to Kerry goal’s with Annie Walsh getting Cork a goal they needed to keep them in touch of Kerry. Half time score Kerry 0-10 Cork 2-02.

A delighted Kerry Ladies Captain, Cáit Lynch, lifts the Munster Championship after defeating Cork in the final. Picture courtesy of Colbert O’Sullivan


Kerry were now facing into a strong breeze for the second half but that did not deter them as they again started brightly with Louise starting the first attack which unfortunately dropped wide. But just 5 mins into second half Megan O’Connell was at the end of a great ball into the area & rattled the Cork net, to put 5 again between the teams.  Despite Cork having a strong wind to aid them, they hit were guilty of poor shooting while the Kerry forwards were economical. Geraldine O’Flynn got Cork on the scoreboard after 15 mins in the second half.  Kerry’s response was swift as the kick out was won & moved quickly up front to Louise  who took on her player & Martina O’Brien the Cork keeper was unable to stop the accurate powerful shot to the Kerry net.

With just over 10 mins left to play Kerry introduced fresh legs with Cassandra Buckley, Laura Rogers & Amanda Brosnan coming in. Cork managed a second point from Valerie Mulcahy but Kerry had the last 2 scores of the game from Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh & Sarah Houlihan. Final score Cork 2-04 Kerry 2-13. It was a complete team performance with the Kerry defence resolute in their defending, keeping fouls & free taking opportunities to a minimum, while midfield held the middle & stopped the Cork runs through the centre. While up front the forwards were well able to take their scores, especially from distance which was the difference between the teams. Captain Cáit Lynch played a captain’s part driving forward & mopping up loose ball, while up front Louise & Sarah Houlihan were thorns in the Cork defence’s side.  Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh was awarded Player of the Match. Alan O’Neill Manager, was happy with the performance but said there is a long road yet ahead with good teams in the qualifiers but that they will enjoy this.

Team: Edel Murphy (Laune Rangers), Gina Crowley ( Inbhear Sceine Gaels ), Aislinn Desmond (Rathmore ), – Aisling Leonard (Castleisland Desmonds ), Marie Quirke ( Na Gaeil ), Cait Lynch Capt (Castleisland Desmonds ), Bernie Breen (Laune Rangers ), Emma Sherwood  (Firies ), Sarah Houlihan ( Laune Rangers ), Louise Ni Mhuircheartaigh (Corca Dhuibhne ), Denise Hallissey (Inbhear Sceine Gaels ), Patrice Dennehy (Laune Rangers) , Lorraine Scanlon (Castleisland Desmonds) , Megan O’Connell (Southern Gaels). Subs Introduced: Amanda Brosnan (Dr Crokes ), Cassandra Buckley ( Spa ), Laura Rogers (Austin Stacks) Panel: Laura Fitzgerald (Na Gaeil) Eilish O Connor (Na Gaeil) Brid O Connor  (Na Gaeil) Aisling O Connell (Scartaglen) Bernie Cronin (Southern Gaels)  Andrea Murphy (Castleisland Desmonds) Linda Cronin (Southern Gaels) Deirdre Kearney (Na Gaeil) Laura Collins ( Abbeydorney) Rheanne O Shea (Dr.Crokes) Eilish Lynch( Castleisland Desmonds) Ayesha Roche (Na Gaeil)

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs