Kerry outgun Mayo

Kerry v Mayo - All-Ireland U14 'A' Ladies Football Championship Final

Kerry 6-08 Mayo 4-09.

There were celebrations in Nenagh when Kerry finally annexed the U14 A All Ireland title, after a 6 year wait. They defeated Mayo on a scoreline of Kerry 6-08 Mayo 4-09, in a very entertaining end to end contest. Mayo started the game the brightest & hit the first 2 opening points. Despite playing with a sizeable wind they elected to play a sweeper in front of the Kerry forwards to cut out the space which initially worked.

However Kerry soon got to grips with the game & Fiadhna Tangney, who was a thorn in the Mayo side all day, was pulled down in the square. Aoife O’Callaghan stepped up & hit the penalty as coolly to the net. Kerry started to dominate & hit Mayo for a goal, as Fiadhna Tangney struck for her first goal from play. Mayo kept in touch of Kerry with some points from Maria Reilly their captain & full forward.  Kerry had another goal chance just before half time as Labhaoise Walmsley who moved into the forwards from midfield was through on goal but the shot was hit over the bar. But the Mayo reply was instant as just at the half time whistle they scored a goal from their midfielder Ciara Whyte. Half time Kerry 2-05 Mayo 1-06.

The second half started similar to the first with Mayo hitting Kerry for quick scores – 2 goals within 5 minutes & also forced a great save from the Kerry keeper Laura Teahan. But Kerry’s reply was instant as Labhaoise Walmsley who was proving to be a great strike partner for Fiadhna Tangney pulled 2 goals back for Kerry, the second after a great passing move. Kerry’s 5th goal came minutes later after Hannah O’Donoghue, at wing back, cut off a Mayo attack, quick ball to Sophie Lynch who played the ball over the Mayo defenders into Fiadhna Tangney who hit the back of the net. It was all Kerry now at this stage & Labhaoise Walmsley score the final Kerry goal, again a perfectly timed & weighted pass from Fiadhna Tangney who drew the attention of the Mayo defenders & goalkeeper & quickly moved the ball to Labhaoise who palmed into an open net.  Mayo got a consolation goal with 10 minutes remaining. Final Score: Kerry 6-08 Mayo 4-09. It was a great team performance from Kerry but standing out for Kerry were Hanna O’Donoghue & Ciara Murphy in defence, Sophie Lynch in midfield, while Mayo will want to quickly forget about Fiadhna Tangney & Labhaoise Walmsley in forwards. Pat Quill LGFA President presented the cup to Erica McGlynn captain while Fiadhna Tangney was awarded Player of the Match to add to her Munster award. Many thanks to Castleisland Desmonds Ladies Clubs & Fossa GAA who organised great homecomings for the team, particularly in Killarney where a Garda escort lead the girls to Fossa GAA.

Team & Scorers:

Laura Teahan Kilcummin,  Anna O Reilly  Fossa,  Tara Breen  Laune Rangers, Muireann Moriarty  Na Gaeil, Kate Maher  Kilcummin, Hannah O Donoghue  Fossa, Ciara Murphy Miltown/Listry, Sophie Lynch  Listowel Emmets, Labhaoise Walmsley (3-01)  Castleisland Desmonds, Fiadhna Tangney (2-06)Legion, Aoife O Callaghan (1 pen -01) Rathmore, Ciara O Brien  Laune Rangers, Erica Mc Glynn Capt Fossa, Brid Ryan Rathmore, Jade Powell John Mitchels. Subs Rachel Fitzgerald Rathmore for Kate Maher, Niamh Ni Chonchuir Corca Dhuibhne for Aoife O’Callaghan.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs