2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Ladies Football Golf Classic a huge success.

Ladies Football Golf Classic a huge success. By Fr. Liam

The 2nd Annual Ladies Football Golf Classic held on the
beautiful, Portumna Golf course on Thursday and Friday last
proved to be a huge success. An immaculately prepared golf
course provided a stiff test for the 40 teams who took part
in an effort to swell the coffers of Cumann Peil Gael Na
mBan, to help the Association in its ambitious Development
Plan. Competitors on Thursday and Friday could not have
encountered more contrasting weather patterns. It rained
all Thursday evening and this made it very difficult for
those who opted for Thursday, while the Friday contingent
experienced beautiful conditions all day long.

In the end it was local knowledge which prevailed with the
home club foursome of Noel Larkin, Sylvie Nealon, Dermot
Turley and Stevie Larkin, who brought in a magnificent 99
points taking the first spot. They had just 2 points to
spare over another club team led by Lady President Bridget
Broderick and which also included Mary Connell, Des Lynch
and Eamonn Nihill. Tullamore came 3rd on 94 with Pat Heffernan,
Eamonn Buggy PJ Horan and Paschal McCann making up their

There were 3 teams on 93 with 4th going to Athenry with
Martin Fitzpatrick Jarleth Somers, Tom Cloonan and Seamus
Quinn, 5th went to Brendan Lynskey, John Larkin, Seamus
Mulkerins, and Patsy Lynch 6th place Iggy Daly, Marty Noone,
John Creavin and Tommy Daly. There was one team on 92 and
they took 7th Noel Geoghan, Liam Shinners, Bernard Hogan
and Liam Hogan. On 91 for 8th were Clare hurling stalwarts
Anthony Daly, Peter O’Loughlin, Pascall Russell and Ferghal
Touhy. Also on 91 were the Tipp foursome Jimmy Lonergan,
Paddy Crowe, Dan Collins, and John Quirke 10th went to Ger
Loughnane, who teamed up with Tony Considine, Brendan Lynskey
and Conor Flynn. Next it was the turn of the Cork boys with
Fr. Liam Kelleher, Tom Kenny, Anthony Kenny and John McDonnell
carding 90 points for 11th . The next spot went to Patsy
Lynch Gerry Reilly, Eric Elwood of rugby fame and Eugene
Corleyalso on 90

On 89 were the gallant Wexford Ladies Mary Rice, Teresa
Keogh, Margaret Atkinson and Sheila Kinsella whose 89 points
gave them 13th overall and first ladies prize. The longest
drive went to Brian McDonald while nearest to the pin on
the 18th a mere 10 inches away was PJ Horan.


Geraldine Giles President of the Ladies Gaelic Football
Association made the presentations after thanking the Club
President Gene Claffey for the use of their magnificent
course and hospitality. She thanked all who helped to promote
the event inclduing the Chief Executieve Helen O’Rourke
and her many helpers, and especially thanked all who supported
the event through playing or sponsorship. Fr. Liam Kelleher
PRO 087-8516984

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs