Laois Notes 02.07.2013



St Conleth’s created history in Derry at the weekend claiming Bus Eireann All-Ireland Feile Division 3 Ladies Football honours.


The side from the Portarlington, Killenard, Ballybrittas and Emo areas, brought a first All-Ireland Feile success to the area, since Courtwood’s Division 1 Ladies Football triumph in Donegal in 1997.


An early 6am start on Friday morning didn’t deter the girls, who claimed a 4-9 to 1-1 win over hosts St. Canices Dungiven in their opening game.


Following the Feile parade in Derry City on Friday night, it was another early start on Saturday, with Conleth’s beating Claudy (3-20 to 1-1) and Drumcliffe, Sligo (7-11 to 2-0) in their group games to book a semi-final berth.


Ballymaguigan was the venue for the semi-final, where Conleth’s again impressed as they booked a 5-8 to 1-7 win over Wicklow champions St. Pat’s.


St Conleth’s had to dig deep, before taking honours on Sunday, with a 1-6 to 1-5 win over Wexford side Shelmaliers in the final at the Derry GAA Centre of Excellence at Owenbeg.


Leading 0-3 to 0-2 at half-time, thanks to scores from Eva Galvin, Fiona Dempsey and Sinead Cullen, St Conleth’s found themselves two points in arrears early on the restart, following a Shelmaliers goal.


Team captain Galvin lead by example with a goal to see her side regain the lead, with Naomi Luttrell (0-2) and Cullen (0-1) also claiming second half scores.


After the game Ava Galvin and vice-captain Nicole Havill jointly received the cup from GAA President Liam O’Neill.


Fiona Dempsey was also honoured with the Player of Division 3 award.


In the skills competition, Shauna Quirke represented St. Conleth’s, but was unlucky not to take victory after coming close to eventual group winner Kate Whyte of Claudy.


The side were managed by Claire O’Connell, Tommy Hoey and Caroline Havill, with Anne Hogan acting as Feile Officer.


A large contingent of parents and supporters travelled to support the girls over the weekend, while thanks must also go to all of the sponsors who lent their support.


St Conleths Panel: Nicole Havill, Fiona Dempsey, Erin Murphy, Rachel Downey, Eva Galvin, Olivia Deverell, Mary Cotter, Naoimi Luttrell, Grainne Smyth, Ciara Hogan, Jennifer Ahern, Lydia Darley, Shauna Quirke, Lauren Hogan, Aoife Carey, Robyn Hackett, Lauren Connolly, Sinead Cullen, Leah Cooney, Sile Burbage, Tanashe Chapwayna, Aisling Whooley, Amy Byrne, Rebecca Browne, Emma Stafford.




Laois Senior Ladies Footballers exited the Leinster championship at the semi-final stage after hosts Meath booked a Leinster Final date with Dublin, thanks to a 3-7 to 1-8 win at Summerhill on Sunday.


Aiming for a first Leinster final appearance since 2011, Tom McKitterick’s charges came into this game, making their debut in the 2013 Championship, while the Royals were boosted by a six-point quarter-final win over Westmeath.


Meath had handed Laois a tough assignment when the sides met in the league early this year, with the Royals dishing out a six-point defeat.


Goals from Sinead Coyle and Jenny Rispin gave Meath an early lead, but Treacy Lawlor’s 27th minute goal edged Laois back into contention, with the hosts leading 2-5 to 1-3 at the break.


Points from Lawlor, Maggie Murphy and Martha Kirwan also helping to keep Laois in touch


With less than ten minutes remaining, Meath had tagged on just one more point as Laois brought themselves within touching distance with four points, after Martha Kirwan and Lawlor (2) were on target.


But Aine Bennett settled Meath’s nerves with a third goal three minutes from time – the second converted penalty of the game.


In a tie pockmarked by four sin-binnings – two for each team – Meath goalkeeper Irene Munnelly was inspirational, with a string of fine saves.


Laois will hope to reignite their Championship campaign via the All-Ireland qualifiers, the draw for which will take place in a fortnight’s time at the TG4 All-Ireland Championship launch at Croke Park.


Scorers for Laois: Treacy Lawlor 1-3; Maggie Murphy, Martina Dunne, Martha Kirwan, Ciara Burke, Lauramarie Maher 0-1 each.


Scorers for Meath: Jenny Rispin 1-1; Aine Bennett, Sinead Coyle 1-0 each; Geraldine Doherty 0-3; Emma Troy, Katie O’Brien, Bridgetta Lynch 0-1 each.



Laois Ladies Gaelic Football Association will hold their annual Golf Classic on Saturday July 20th at 1pm in the Heath Golf Club.


A team of four costs €120 with a Burger and Drink on the 9th hole.


For timesheet contact Michael O’Loughlin on 086-8203379 or Martina Doyle on 086-0873237.




As part of the 40th Anniversary of the Ladies Gaelic Football Association, players who featured on All-Ireland Final panels are invited back to Croke Park on September 29th next for this years finals as guests of the LGFA.


Laois competed in the All-Ireland Senior Championship Final in 1985, 1988, 1990, 1991, 1992, 1993, 1996 and 2001 and also featured in the All-Ireland Intermediate Championship Final in 1998 and 2000.


Any former players or anyone with information can contact the Ladies Gaelic Football Association on or on 01 836 3156



Laois Ladies Gaelic Football Association are now on both Twitter and Facebook.

TWITTER: @laoislgfa

FACEBOOK: Find us at ‘Laois LGFA’

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs