Leonard retains captaincy and Flaherty retires as Galway announce 2019 Lidl NFL panel

NEW Galway ladies senior football team manager Tim Rabbitte has confirmed his squad for the 2019 Lidl National League campaign.

The team will be captained once again by 2018 TG4 All Star nominee Tracey Leonard, the Corofin clubwoman.

This year’s vice-captain will be Kilkerrin-Clonberne’s Louise Ward.

Back in the Galway squad is former Republic of Ireland soccer International and Barna native Dora Gorman.

Dora was last with the squad in 2016 but she took some time out to pursue her medical career.

Now a qualified Doctor, Gorman has rejoined the panel and another notable inclusion is Méabh de Búrca, another Republic of Ireland International who is playing with Galway WFC.

Tracey Leonard will captain Galway again in 2019 

Mairead Coyne has also thrown in her lot with the Tribeswomen, following a rugby stint which saw her capped by the Ireland women’s rugby team.

There are quite a few changes to the squad, with defender Emer Flaherty retiring from inter-county football.

Emer was a key player for Galway when they won the 2004 TG4 All-Ireland Senior title, while she also won All Star awards in 2003 and 2004.

Emer was also named at left half back on the TG4/Ladies Football Team of the Decade that was announced in 2010.

2018 TG4 All Star Sinéad Burke is included in the squad but the Dublin-based schoolteacher is taking an extended break until March, while dual player Catriona Cormican is concentrating on camogie at present.

Meanwhile, Siobhán Divilly from Kilkerrin-Clonberne is taking a year out from inter-county football.

Galway, last year’s beaten League semi-finalists, are away to Cork in Mallow on Saturday (1pm) in their first Division 1 fixture of the new season.

The 2019 Lidl NFL League squad is:

Aine Mc Donagh – Moycullen

Aoife Thompson – Mountbellew Moylough

Amy Coen – Corofin

Barbara Hannon – Dunmore McHales

Bronagh Murphy – St. Mary’s Killererin

Charlotte  Cooney – Claregalway

Ciara Mc Carthy – Annaghdown

Dora Gorman – St. Finians

Dearbhla Gower – Corofin

Emile Gavin – Claregalway

Fabienne Cooney – Claregalway

Leanne Coen – Corofin

Lynsey Noone – Killkerrin Clonberne

Lucy Hannon – Dunmore McHales

Linda Booth – St Brendan’s

Lisa Murphy – Killkerrin-Clonberne

Lisa Gannon – Kilkerrin-Clonberne

Louise Ward – Kilkerrin-Clonberne

Mairead Coyne – Grainne Mhaols

Megan Glynn – Claregalway

Mairead Seoighe -Clonbur

Meabh de Burca – St. Michaels

Niamh Daly – St Gabriel’s

Nicola Ward Kilkerrin-Clonberne

Noelle Connolly – Glenamaddy-Williamstown

Olivia Divilly – Kilkerrin-Clonberne

Riona Ni Flatharta – Naomh Anna Leitir Móir

Roisin Leonard – Corofin

Roisin Ni Chonghaile – Moycullen

Sarah Conneally – Dunmore McHales

Sarah Ni Lionsigh – Naomh Anna Leitir Móir

Shauna Molloy – St Fursey’s

Sinéad Burke – Ballyboden St. Enda’s

Tracey Leonard – Corofin (captain)


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs