LIDL NFL PREVIEWS: Cork tackle Mayo in crucial Division 1 clash, Fermanagh to play Roscommon in Division 3

CORK and Mayo clash on Sunday in a crucial Lidl National League Division 1 fixture that will get the Facebook Live treatment on the LGFA page:

Cork can leapfrog Galway and move back into outright top spot with even a draw, while a Mayo win would see three teams locked together on nine points at the head of affairs after four rounds.

The Cork-Mayo tie fell foul of the weather last weekend, but they’ll look to finally get it done in Mallow on Sunday (3pm).

There’s also a re-arranged fixture in Division 3, where Roscommon need the points against Fermanagh to keep in touch with pace-setters Down and Kildare.

This fixture will have a 2.30pm start on the 3G pitch at Peacelink, Clones.

Sunday 1st March 2020



Lidl Ladies NFL Division 1 – Round 4            


Cork v Mayo, 3pm, Mallow, (J Murphy, Carlow)


Champions Cork will aim to make it four wins from four when they welcome Mayo to Mallow.

The Leesiders have been impressive thus far in Division 1, and claimed a morale-boosting victory over Dublin at Croke Park last time out.

Mayo are motoring nicely too, with two wins from three outings, and they’ll look to build on their gritty victory over Waterford, a low-scoring Round 3 encounter played in difficult conditions.

The Cork team shows one switch, with Sadhbh O’Leary replacing Saoirse Noonan in attack, while Mayo boss Peter Leahy has made no fewer than eight changes in personnel from the team that started in the recent victory over Waterford.

Saoirse Lally, Éilis Ronayne, Clodagh McManamon, Roisin Durkin, Maria Cannon, Ella Brennan, Natasha Gaughan and Mary McHale all get the nod, with Danielle Caldwell, Ciara Whyte, Kathryn Sullivan, Alannah Duffy, Fiona Doherty, Jennifer Cawley, Rachel Kearns and Amy Halligan dropping out of the team.

Galway currently lead Division 1 on scoring difference but even a draw for Cork would put them back on top of the pile.

A Mayo win would make things very interesting, however, as that would see Leahy’s side, Galway and Cork all locked together on nine points.

A Cork victory would, however, see them well on course for a second successive Division 1 Final appearance, and a seventh in eight seasons.

This game will be live on the LGFA Facebook Page:, with Jerome Quinn and former Waterford star Michelle Ryan on commentary duty.

Coverage gets underway a 2.45pm.


Cork (v Mayo): M O’Brien; M Ambrose, R Phelan, S Leahy; L O’Mahony, M Duggan, A Hutchings; M O’Callaghan, H Looney; O Farmer, Á O’Sullivan, L Cleary; L Coppinger, S O’Leary, O Finn.


Mayo (v Cork): A Tarpey; N O’Malley, N Moran, S Lally; É Ronayne, Ciara McManamon, Clodagh McManamon; R Durkin, S Cafferky; M Cannon, L Cafferky, M Reilly; E Brennan, N Gaughan, M McHale.


Lidl Ladies NFL Division 3 – Round 3


Fermanagh v Roscommon, 2.30pm, Peacelink, Clones (3G) (D Carolan, Down)


Fermanagh and Roscommon will hope that this game gets played at the third attempt, following two postponements.

It’s a big game for both sides, with potential repercussions at both ends of the table.

Roscommon have six points from three outings to date, and need the win to keep in touch with Down and Kildare, who both lead the way on 12 points, and with 100 per cent records to date.

Fermanagh could do with a result themselves, as they’re on three points and third from bottom, with Longford (one point) and Sligo (pointless) behind them.

Following last year’s promotion, consolidation in Division 3 would represent a good League season for Fermanagh, while Roscommon will look to make inroads towards the top of the table.

Having claimed victories over Sligo and Laois, Roscommon were brought back down to earth with a jolt by Down, and on the receiving end of a 0-7 to 3-13 defeat last time out.

After losing to Kildare and Down, Fermanagh earned a morale-boosting victory over Longford in their last game, a result that could be good enough to keep them in the third tier at the very least.


Fermanagh (v Roscommon): S Keenan; M Flynn, E Murphy, E Keenan; M McGloin, C Murphy, Á McGovern; C Bogue, A Flanagan; A Maguire, B Bannon, R McDonald; S Britton, S McCausland, L Grew.

Roscommon (v Fermanagh): S Lavin; M Kelly, S Kenny, R Brady; S McVeigh, R Wynne, N Feeney; L Fleming, C Conway; L Brady, J Higgins, R Fitzmaurice; A O’Connor, R Finan, S Glennon.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs