2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Mary Jo Curran to be Honoured with Hall of Fame


The 2013 TG4 Ladies Football All Star Awards will take place at the Citywest Hotel on November 9th where the best 15 players from the 40th All Ireland Championship season will be honoured. Along with the All Stars awards, there will also be a presentation to the Hall of Fame Recipient and the 4 Provincial Young Players of the Year.


Mary Jo Curran is a Kerry legend and will be honoured with the 2013 Hall of Fame Award. Mary Jo is unique in ladies football as she has won 10 Senior All Ireland titles with Kerry  and she has matched that achievement with 10 All Star Awards. Her performances at Centre Forward and Midfield for Kerry during their golden age between 1982 and 1993 were a major factor in helping Kerry to win 11 All Ireland titles including an unprecedented 9 in a row. Mary Jo is still hugely involved in Ladies Football with her club, Beaufort and she is involved as part of the backroom team for the Kerry Senior Ladies Football team.


Neasa Byrd from Crosserlough in County Cavan has been named as the Ulster Young Player of the Year, Roscommon’s Tess Murtagh is the Connacht Young Player of the Year, Kate Leneghan from Cork is the Munster Young Player of the Year and Lucy McCartan of Westmeath is the Leinster Young Player of the Year. All 4 players have been selected for their ability on the field and for some inspirational performances in their county and club colours.


Speaking about the awards, LGFA President Pat Quill said ‘I am delighted that Mary Jo Curran is this year’s recipient of the Hall of Fame Award, she is one of the best players that I have ever seen play and continues to be an inspiration to players in Kerry as a coach. The Young Player of the Year Awards have proven to be an excellent guide to future stars in the past and I am sure that this years recipients will continue that pround tradition.’


The Hall of Fame and Young Players of the Year Award will be presented at the 2013 TG4 All Star Awards at the Citywest Hotel on November 9th.


2013 Hall of Fame Recipient


Mary Jo Curran (Kerry)


2013 Connacht Young Player of the Year


Tess Murtagh (Roscommon)


2013 Leinster Young Player of the Year


Lucy McCartan (Westmeath)


2013 Munster Young Player of the Year


Kate Lenehan (Cork)


2013 Ulster Young Player of the Year


Neasa Byrd (Cavan)


2013 TG4 Ladies Football All Star Award Nominees


Goalkeepers: Yvonne Byrne (Mayo), Caron Fay (Cavan), Linda Martin (Monaghan)


Defenders: Rena Buckley (Cork), Sinéad Burke (Galway), Briege Corkery (Cork), Sharon Courtney (Monaghan), Emer Flaherty (Galway), Sinéad Goldrick (Dublin), Laura McEnaney (Monaghan), Caroline Kelly (Kerry), Cáit Lynch (Kerry), Aoife Lyons (Kerry), Aoife McAnespie (Monaghan), Gráinne McNally (Monaghan), Geraldine O’Flynn (Cork), Deirdre O’Reilly (Cork), Christina Reilly (Monaghan), Bríd Stack (Cork), Noelle Tierney (Mayo), Anne Marie Walsh (Cork)


Midfielders: Bernie Breen (Kerry), Amanda Casey (Monaghan), Annette Clarke (Galway), Juliet Murphy (Cork), Caroline O’Hanlon (Armagh), Angela Walsh (Cork)


Forwards: Sinéad Aherne (Dublin), Nollaig Cleary (Cork), Cora Courtney (Monaghan), Aisling Doonan (Cavan), Aileen Gilroy (Mayo), Noelle Healy (Dublin), Sarah Houlihan (Kerry), Caroline Little (Fermanagh), Ciara McAnespie (Monaghan), Cathriona McConnell (Monaghan), Fiona McHale (Mayo), Caoimhe Mohan (Monaghan), Mairéad Morrissey (Tipperary), Valerie Mulcahy (Cork), Louise Ní Muircheartaigh (Kerry), Doireann O’Sullivan (Cork), Bronagh Sheridan (Cavan), Cora Staunton (Mayo)




Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs