Mayo End Galway Dominance

Mayo 3-20

Galway 0-16

Galway Came to Castlebar on Sunday trying to make it 5 senior championships in a row but they didn’t count on Mayo’s Cora Staunton scoring 2-14 outscoring the Galway team by herself. 13 points in the end was between these two sides but Mayo didn’t have it all their own way.

Cora Staunton is presented with the Player of the Match award by Liam MacOstigan, President ladies Connacht Council  in the TG4 Connacht Ladies Senior Final  against Galway in Elverys MacHale Park Castlebar. Photo: © Michael Donnelly

It was tit for tat at the start as there was never more than 2 points in it for the 1st 25 minutes when Mayo pulled away to a 4 point lead at half time.

Mayo’s Nicola O’Malley opened the scoring after 2 minutes before Aileen Gilroy pointed to put two between the sides before Galway got on the score board with Roisin Leonard and Edel Concannon pointing for the tribe’s ladies. Cora’s 1st of the day came from a free after 10 minutes before Concannon and Leonard kicked Galway in to the lead. Niamh Kelly and a free from Cora Staunton put Mayo back in the lead before Mayo’s corner back Leona Ryder was Sinbinned. Leonard levelled it again from a free and Louise Ward put Galway ahead Leonard put two between the sides before Galway’s wing back Fabienne Cooney saw yellow from Sligo ref John Niland. Points from Gilroy and Staunton levelled it again. Two points from Cora one a magnificent left foot shot from 40 yards the score of the day for me. Concannon brought Galway back to within one point but that was as close as they would get to Mayo as Cora hit three in a row to leave four between the teams at half time.


Galway got the 1st two scores of the 2nd half though Roisin Leonard but Mayo hit right back with two points from McManamon and sub Grace Kelly who replaced Sarah Row just before half time. Cora would score 2-02 in five minutes before Galway’s sub Mairead Seoighe would point to leave it Mayo 2-17 Galway 0-13. Two points from Roisin Leonard and one from Concannon would end Galway’s scoring for the day. A point from the magnificent Aileen Gilroy who put in one hell of a shift for the cause before Niamh Kelly hit the back of the Galway net for Mayo’s 3rd goal. But it was Player of the match Cora Staunton that would get the last point of the day, to leave it Mayo 3-20 Galway 0-16.


Mayo: 1. Yvonne Byrne. 2. Leona Ryder. 3. Martha Carter. 4. Nicola O’Malley. 5. Marie Corbett. 6. Sarah Tierney. 7. Orla Conlon. 8. Aileen Gilroy. 9. Clodagh McManamon. 10. Carol Hegarty. 11. Fiona McHale. 12. Sarah Rowe. 13. Doireann Hughes. 14. Cora Staunton. 15. Niamh Kelly.

Galway: 1. Johnna Connolly. 2. Sarah Gormally. 3. Noelle Connolly. 4. Shauna Hynes. 5. Fabienne Cooney. 6. Nicola Ward.  7. Megan Heneghan. 8. Maria Hoey. 9. Louise Ward. 10. Olivia Divilly. 11. Patricia Gleeson. 12. Lisa Gannon. 13. Roisin Leonard. 14. Megan Glynn. 15. Edel Concannon.

Referee John Niland Sligo


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs