MMI Group Interprovincial Tournament 2011

By Jackie Cahill

MUNSTER manager Noel O’Connor insisted that the MMI Group LGFA Interprovincial championship continues to hold a special place in the hearts of players following the province’s victory last Saturday.

Munster regained the Mick Talbot cup with a 2-2 to 1-3 victory against Ulster in a low-scoring decider at Páirc Chiaráin, Athlone.

Dreadful weather conditions made life difficult for the country’s top stars but a dramatic Saturday still provided plenty of good football and no little drama.

A penalty shoot-out was required to determine the interprovincial finalists as Leinster, Ulster and Munster were tied on two wins each following the group stages.

After Munster booked their place in the final, Donegal star Yvonne McMonagle tapped the ball over the bar with the scores tied at 3-3 to book Ulster’s place in the final.

O’Connor, part of the Cork management team alongside Eamon Ryan, smiled: “We pulled through in the end. And it means quite a lot to the girls. It was Valerie Mulcahy’s first time as captain and she’s been playing ten years. You could see how much it meant to the players after working hard and getting the result. Some players couldn’t make it for different reasons but Niamh O’Dea (Clare) is doing her Leaving Cert and she participated. She made a huge effort for the day and the interprovincial competition is a great opportunity to meet new players.”

Munster’s first title since 2009 was their 18th since the competition’s inception in 1976 as Ulster, winners last year, relinquished their grip on the silverware.

First half goals from Cork pair Áine Sheehan and Mulcahy handed Munster the initiative in the final against Ulster as O’Dea added a point.

In response, Monaghan ace Ciara McAnespie netted to leave Ulster trailing by 1-0 to 2-1 at half-time.

Mulcahy tacked on Munster’s solitary second half score but it proved enough as Ulster hit three points, including two from Tyrone’s Joline Donnelly and the other from McAnespie.

Connacht, meanwhile, defeated Leinster by 3-8 to 1-11 to win the Shield competition for the second time.

And Cork’s Briege Corkery received the MMI Group LGFA Interprovincial Championship Player of the tournament award.

MMI Group LGFA Interprovincial Championship


Leinster 1-4 Munster 1-9

Connacht 2-2 Ulster 5-7

Leinster 1-8 Ulster 0-8

Connacht 5-5 Munster 5-6

Leinster 2-13 Connacht 1-7

Ulster 4-8 Munster 1-4

MMI Group LGFA Interprovincial Championship shield final

Leinster 1-11 Connacht 3-8

MMI Group LGFA Interprovincial Championship final

Munster 2-2 Ulster 1-3

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs