2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Naomh Abán fashion exciting win in All-Ireland semi.

Naomh Abán fashion exciting win in All-Ireland semi.
Naomh Abán 0-8 Kilmovee, Mayo 0-6.

In a thrilling game of football played in the true spirit
of the sport, West Cork girls Naomh Abán advanced to the
final of the All-Ireland Intermediate championship when
they held off a determined finish from the Connaught Champions
on their own ground at Ballyvourney on Sunday. Like the
pattern that has been in many of the big games in recent
times, scores were at a premium and while Kilmovee got the
first score after 5 minutes, they did not score again for
fully 30 minutes. In between Naomh Abán thanks to the dashing
play from their star forward Caoimhe Creedon took over the
scoring stakes. She teased and tormented the the visitors
defence with points in the 11th, 17th, 22nd and 30th minute
as well as hitting the bar to give the homesters a 4 to
1 point lead at the interval.

Kilmovee’s lone score came from their much vaunted full
forward Michelle Kelly. In that first half the Mayo girls
had plenty of opportunities and played some delightful football
but they found the home defence in mean mood as they closed
them down at every opportunity. The ploy of playing Aisling
Burke out the field for the first half did not pay off for
them. Like in the previous game Naomh Abán inlfuential midfielder
Eimear Ni Chonaill, carried an injury into the game and
was moved to full forward. This did not really work because,
Caoimhe was less effective on the half line. Eimear after
half time physio returned to midfield and with Maire Ni
Chorcora broke the dominance of Kilmovee’s Deirdre Gordon
and Edel Colleran.

Start they wanted.

Naomh Abán got the start they wanted in the 2nd half, with
Cait Ni Loinsigh making it a 5 point lead 2 minutes into
the half, Michelle Kelly cancelled that out after 5. A period
of dominance by the home team resulted in points by Anita
Ni Tomas, Maire Ni Chorcora and Caroline ni Chartaigh gaving
Naomh Abán what appeared to be a winning lead. But to their
credit the Mayo girls did not give up and their very young
team, whose average age was under 18, including 3 of the
Mayo Minor team defeated by Cork in the All-Ireland final.
Aisling Farrell at fullback who had come more into the game
when Caoimhe Creedon moved out. Edel Colleraan who performed
well at midfield, but Kelly Colleran was well marshalled
all through by Siobhán ní Bhuachaille.

Kilmovee dug deep and dominated for the last 7 minutes They
scored their 3rd point on the 23rd minute through Michelle
Kelly and she again had points in the 31st and 32nd minute.
Ciara Ni Laithain made a few great saves to save her side
and while Kilmovee got another point on the 35th minute,
from Aisling Burke who finally found her range, to reduce
the deficit to 2 points, that was it for them.

To the relief of the home team and their huge following
referee, Joe Murray of Dublin, who did an excellent job
blew the final whistle. There were joyous scenes all round
with, Naomh Aban were back again in an All-Ireland final
after 4 years. On that occasion they lost the Junior final
to Cooley, of Louth, but on Saturday week, they hope to
put the record right when they take on Parnells of London,
the first English club side to make and All-Ireland final.

This was essentially a terrific team performance from the
home girls and now they have created history by ensuring
that all three Cork teams will contest this years All-Ireland
Club finals. Donoughmore take on Senchelstown of Meath in
the Senior decider at Nolan Park in Kilkenny on Sunday next
at 2.30pm, while Gabriel Rangers bid for the Junior title
against Fingallians of Dublin at the same venue at 1pm.

Kilmovee were gallant in defeat and with John Eagney at
the helm no doubt, they will be back again and could well
be the next side to break the Carnacon dominance in Mayo.
Full credit as well for bringing a big crowd of supporters
who were loud in their vocal support all through.

Naomh Abán: Ciara Ni Liathain, Cait Ni Concubhair,
Fiona Ní Suilleabhain, Niamh Ní Scannell, Siobhan Ní Mhurchu,
Siobhán Ní Buacala, Capt, Maire Ní Corcora, Eimear Ní Conaill.
Lisa Ní Suibhne, Cait Ní Loinsig, Anita Ní Tomás, Caroline
Ní Cartaigh, Caoimhe Ní Chriodaín. Alva Ní Loinsig. Brid
Ní Concubhair, Noelle Ní Corcora, Cliodhna Ní Scannaill,
Maire Ní Cartaigh, Maire Ní Corcora, Sile Ní Ceallaigh,
Grainne Ní Luasa Maura Ní Riordain, Joanne Ní Cartaigh,
Caroline De Barra, Isla Ní Suibhne.

Kilmovee: Louise Callaghan, Lorraine Kelly, Aisling
Farrell, Fiona Costello, Cliona Finn, Sinead Maye, Amanda
Tyrrell, Deirdre Gordon Capt., Edel Colleran, Emer Tansey,
Kelly Colleran, Sarah Tyrell, Catriona Colleran, Michele
Kelly, Aisling Burke, Lisa Quinn. Lisa Reid, Angela Gordon,
Siobhan Colleran, Elizabeth Gavican, Elaine Duffy, Vicky
Killoran, Linda Morrisroe. Emer Grehan, Joanne Regan, Avril
Rushe, Fiona Duffy, Deirdre Cassidy, Cliona Mulvanney. Fiona

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs