Ní Chorragáin the difference for Coláiste Oiriall

Lidl All-Ireland PPS Senior B Final

Coláiste Oiriall 2-13
Mount Saint Michael 0-07

By Deniese O’Flaherty

Two second half goals from Alannah Ní Chorragáin saw Monaghan’s Coláiste Oiriall claim the Lidl All-Ireland PPS Senior B title at Glennon Brothers Pearse Park in Longford.
There was just one point between the sides when Ní Chorragáin finished to the net after Caoimhe Ní Mhaolchallan’s shot bounced right in front of the posts. The nifty forward got her second goal minutes later when Éabha Ní Shearraigh’s effort came off the Mount Saint Michael post.
Bree Hession kicked the opening score of the game before Coláiste Oiriall took a hold of proceedings. Kerrie Ann Breathnach levelled the game minutes later. They then kicked four points in a row to lead by four in the tenth minute.
Two minutes later Mount Saint Michael were awarded a penalty after Deirbhile Horkan was taken down. Hession stepped up to take the spot-kick but it was expertly tipped over the bar by Oiriall keeper Órna Ní Cheallaigh.
Ashleagh Salmon followed up with a point for the Claremorris school. Oiriall had two goal chances saved and they kicked a number of wides. The Monaghan school were made rue missed opportunities when points from Alana Fitzpatrick and Ciara Nyland drew Mount Saint Michael level, 0-5 to 0-5, just before the break.
Coláiste Oiriall started the second half well Ní Shearraigh, Holly Nic Uaid and Leah Ní Chuinneagán kicked over fine points but the Claremorris side replied through Nina Wallace and a Hession free.
The game changed in the 38th minute when Ní Chorragáin scored her first goal. Scarlett Ní Earáin, Ní Shearraigh (free), Nic Uaid, Ní Chuinneagáin and Breathnach all fired over points in a deserved win for the Monaghan school.

Scorers – Coláiste Oiriall: A Ní Chorragáin 2-1, É Ní Shearraigh 0-4 (f), H Nic Uaid 0-3, L Ní Chuinneagáin 0-2, K A Breathnach 0-2, S Ní Earáin 0-1.

Mount Saint Michael: 0-3 (0-1 pen, 1f), A Fitzpatrick 0-1, N Wallace 0-1, C Hyland 0-1, A Salmon 0-1.

COLÁISTE OIRIALL: Ó Ní Cheallaigh; A Ní Dhufaigh, S Ní Earáin, A Ní Fhionnagáin; A Ní Cearulláin, U Ní Chongaile, L Ní Mharcaigh; B Nic An Fhailí, L Ní Chuinneagáin; K A Breathnach, H Nic Uaid, A Ní Chorragáin; D Ní Chianáin, É Ní Shearraigh, C Ní Mhaolchallan.

Sub: A Níc Cormaic for Ní Chianáin (30), A Ní tSionnaigh for Ní Mharcaigh (52).

MOUNT SAINT MICHAEL: C Brennan; S McNulty, M Hession, M Cummins; R O’Dea, J Mortimer, L Bourke; A Fitzpatrick, D Horkan; N Wallace, C Nyland, H Slattery; A Cummins, B Hession, A Salmon.

Subs: A Cummins for O’Dea (26), C Walsh for A Cummins (41), S Kelly for M Cummins (51), M Feerick for Horkan (60).

Referee: Shane Curley (Galway).

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs