Old Firm Clash in Connacht Final

Old Firm Clash in Connacht Final

A large crowd is expected in Mountbellow on Saturday next for a very attractive double header which sees Corofin entertain St. Brendan’s in the 2003 Connacht League Final at 5.30 p.m. followed by Galway V Roscommon in the first round of the 2003 Under 14 Connacht Championship at 7.00 p.m.

Corofin and St. Brendan’s are two of the best senior sides in the country with a host of county Junior and Senior stars in the collective ranks. Corofin defeated Hollymount in last years final but lost out narrowly to St. Brendan’s in the 2002 County Senior Championship Final. Their Management team of Pat Gleeson, Frank Morris and Bernie Glynn will be hoping to atone for that defeat next Saturday and retain their title in the process. Corofin have qualified for this years final on the back of comprehensive victories over West Connemara outfit Gráinne Mhaols and Mayo’s sole representatives, Hollymount.

St. Brendan’s have been equally impressive in their two outings against Clan na Gael (Roscommon) and Aughawillen (Leitrim) and their Management team of Con Moynihan, Claire Kelly and Carmel Hannon will be quietly confident of dethroning the reigning champions in Saturday’s final. It promises to be a fascinating encounter which could well go to a replay. The two clubs will go head to head again later this summer in the semi-final of the County Senior Championship.

Last year the Galway U-14 Management team of Walter Butler, Mary Walsh and Breda Molloy guided their girls all the way to an all Ireland final appearance against Cork. They are hoping to go one better this year and will go into Saturday’s game full of confidence after easily disposing of Tipperary and Meath in their two most recent challenges. Roscommon will test Galway’s resources to the limit however, they are a strong well-balanced side. Galway should prevail but it could be a close call.

Galway U-14’s V Roscommon: 1. Claire Brennan (Salthill) 2. Laura Gilmore (Cortoon Shamrocks) 3. Doireann Gilmore (St. Brendan’s) 4. Marian Hernon (Miltown) 5. Tara Flaherty (Gráinne Mhaols) 6. Tara Mullen (Monivea – Abbey) 7. Siobhan Nestor (St. Brendan’s) 8. Bridget McDonnell (Dunmore) 9. Angela Colman (St. Brendan’s) 10. Michelle Doyle (St. Brendan’s) 11. Barbara Hannon, Captain (Dunmore) 12. Fionnuala Hannigan-Dunkley (Gráinne Mhaols) 13. Aoife Martin (St. Brendan’s) 14. Colleen Mannion (St. Mary’s, Killererin) 15. Aoife Scully (Annaghdown)

Ref: Paul Gannon – P.R.O. Galway Ladies Football Board (086) 3847499

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs