2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Quizmania – winners report 2010

Quizmania – winners report 2010

A very successful fundraising event with the Cork Ladies Football hosting their Quizmania took place in the Rochestown Park Hotel with a wide variety of quiz team competing. Quiz master on the evening was the well known sports editor of the Evening Echo Mr John McHale and he presented some very challenging rounds of questions to those in attendance. Throughout the night the lead changed among the top teams and it was not surprise after the 8th round of scores were tallied we had a tie for first / second between a quiz team representing Rosscarbery Ladies Football Club & one representing St Vals Ladies Football Club on 70 points . John delivered a tough tie break round of questions with the Rosscarbery team finishing victors. In third place was a team representing Donoughmore Ladies Club on 68 points , 4th place on 67 points went Glanmire GAA 5th place was shared between Liscarroll & Boherbue Ladies Football quiz teams on 66 points 7th place on 64 points went to Blackrock Rowing Club with 8th place on 63 points going to Castlehaven GAA. We also on the night held a Sports Persons Celebratory Quiz & representing the Irish International Hockey team were ; Clionadhna Sargant & Julia O Halloran , From International Athletics was Robbert Heffernan & his wife Marian Andrews Heffernan and representing Cork Ladies Football Senior Team , Annie Walsh & Nollaig Cleary. The winners were Cork Ladies Football representitives & they presented a €1,000 cheque from Cork ladies Football to Brendan Dempsey , St Vincent De Paul.
Quizmania would not have been possible without the support of our event sponsors to whom we thank.
The Rochestown Park Hotel & their manager Shane Livingston.
The Evening Echo – especially John Mc Hale
O Connor Coaches – Mr Cormac O Connor & his wife Liz.
O Neills
K2MY Health & PACE Glanworth
Silversprings Moran Hotel
Miss Juilet Murphy & Feel Good Centre Ballincollig
Cork International Airport Hotel
Kanturk Printers
Twohigs SuperValu Kanturk
Tom Scally SuperValu Blackrock
We had over 35 spot prizes for our raffle so many of the competitors left we some very nice prizes ( unfortunately I was not one !) We would ask all our supporters to support these businesses in 2010.
I have also to mention three fantastic members of the fundraising committee , Chairman of this Committe Mr Anthony Dempsey , Carraigaline , Our own County Chairman Mr Brian Enright and also another very hard working committee member Mr Conor O Brien Eire Og – these three men are the soul of fundraising in the county their enthusiasm to undertake what is such a hard task of raising badly needed finances for the County Board is to be admired. But this is not the end of their fundraising for this team – they have a new Monster Draw 2011 with fantastic prizes on offer – details will be available on this web site when I receive them – as said all monies raised go to supporting financially our county teams & already this year in all matches played our intercounty players are producing the results on the field of play so all Euros raised are put to good use.
Finally the following is a list of the Quizmania 2010 Prize winners:
First Prize – €1,200 sponsored by O Connor Coaches Kilbrittain – Rosscarbery Ladies Football team represented by :
Steve Perkins; Bernard O Sullivan ; John Hayes & Tim Collins
Second Prize – €800 sponsored by O Connor Coaches Kilbrittain – St Vals Ladies Football team represented by:
Teddy Twohig , John Hayes , Dermot Downes & Kieran Ryan
Third Prize – €400 sponsored by O Connor Coaches Kilbrittain – Donoughmore Ladies Football represented by :
Joe O Riordan, Eoin O Sullivan, Bernard Murphy & Liam Fitzgerald.
Fourth Prize O Neills Voucher – sponsored by O Neills – Glanmire GAA represented by:
Frank Linehan , Eoin O Sullivan , Jim Hackett & Eamon Kearney
Joint Fifth Prize O Neills Sport Voucher – sponsored by O Neills – Boherbue Ladies Club – represented by :
Marie Murphy , Jack Murphy , Tim Murphy & Anthony Guinee.
Joint Fifth Prize ONeills Sports Voucher – sponsored by O Neills – Liscarroll Ladies Club –
Represented by:
Annemarie Hudner , Dermot Maleney , Kieran Hudner & Tim Healy
Seventh Prize PACE Fitness Voucher – sponsored by K2MY Glanworth – Blackrock Rowing Club-
Represented by:
Peter Cummins , Mark Collins , David Coakley & Fergal Coakley.
Eighth Prize – Framed 5 in a row All Ireland Cork Ladies Football Champions – Castlehaven GAA- represented by:
Padraig O Flaithearthaigh , Liam Condon Michael Flynn & Con Burns.
Thanks to all those who corrected sheets – complied the scoreboards , & sold raffle tickets and anyone who helped in any way.
Sharon O Keeffe Cork PRO.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs