Star Studded UCC and UL to contest the Kennedy Cup Final

For the first time in the Jim Kennedy Cup, both teams will be colleges. Both UCC and UL promise patrons an entertaining afternoon in Rathkeale (2.30pm) on Sunday.

In many ways, it is an intriguing encounter and one that both teams will welcome prior to the O’Connor Cup.

UCC made light work of Waterford with a comfortable victory. While UL overcame Kerry and MICL in devastating fashion.

Two of the upcoming managers in the game also leads both teams at the moment. DJ Collins who has led UL to the final is also involved with the Limerick senior Inter County set up. His co-manager is none other than Mayo’s Fiona McHale who will bring a knowledge of today’s game that few could give.

While their opposite number Shane Ronayne is well known from his past his involvement with Cahir PP, Tipperary underage and now a selector on the Cork Senior team. To date his list of achievements is one of success.

However, apart from the managers the teams themselves contained a number of the stars of the game.

UL have always managed to attract some of the game’s best players and this squad is no different. In goal Jennifer Kane is a Cavan inter county panellist. While Mayo’s Sarah Tierney, Clare’s Laurie Ryan and Niamh O’Dea, Kerry’s Lorraine Scanlon, Laura O’Sullivan, Anna Galvin and Claire O’Sullivan, Tipperary’s Siobhan Condon and Samantha Lambert, Galway’s Roisin Leonard and Leitrim’s Aine Tighe are among a long list of talented current and former inter county players.

UCC are not to be outdone with seven of the Cork senior panel Orlagh Farmer, Doireann O Sullivan, Jennifer Barry, Aine Hayes, Maire O Callaghan, Roisin Phelan and Elaine Scally. Munster champions Kerry will have Megan O Connell, Cait Lynch and Louise Ni Mhuirteartaigh on duty. While Laois’s Alison Taylor and Tipperary’s Kelly Hackett are also among the team.

Cork’s Orlagh Farmer will be an absentee as she is currently out of the country

Fittingly a Tipperary man, Michael Duffy, will be in the middle of affairs for a Cup that is named after Tipperary’s Jim Kennedy.

In all this will be a fascinating battle and one that will give new life to the competition.

Last season’s winners Waterford will go head to head with MIC Limerick in the plate competition that will be the first game on an attractive double bill.

By Donal Barry

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs