Team news: 3-in-a-row chasing Donegal to face Tyrone in Kingspan Breffni double-header

TG4 Ulster Senior Championship – Preliminary Round – Saturday June 8

Donegal v Tyrone; Kingspan Breffni, 2.45pm

DONEGAL, one of the leading contenders for the TG4 All-Ireland Senior title, get their campaign underway on Saturday.
The Ulster Champions, who are aiming for a third successive provincial crown, were going great guns in the early stages of the Lidl National League, before losing out to Galway in the Division 1 semi-finals.
Donegal’s impressive early season form included an opening day League victory over Dublin at Croke Park and they’ll hope to rekindle some of that old sparkle as their 2019 Championship bow looms.
Donegal have made three changes to the side beaten by Galway in the Lidl NFL Division 1 semi-final for their championship opener against Tyrone.
This game is part of an attractive double-header at Kingspan Breffni, alongside the male teams from both counties.
Donegal’s last competitive outing was defeat to Galway on April 20 and manager Maxi Curran has retained 12 of the team that started on that occasion.
TG4 All Star Treasa Doherty, Roisin Rogers and Kate Keeney come into the team for the meeting with the Red Hands, in place of with Niamh Boyle, Megan Ryan and Elaine Melaugh.
Tyrone, meanwhile, have nine of the team that lined out in the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Intermediate Final victory over Meath starting against Donegal, as they prepare for a return to the senior ranks.
Tyrone missed out on a semi-final slot in Division 2 of the Lidl National League but Gerry Moane and his players will have targeted Championship from a long way out.

Donegal team: 

1 (GK)   Aoife McColgan Aoife Nic Colgain Malin
2   Anna Marie McGlynn Aine Maire Ni Fhlionn Glenfin
3   Emer Gallagher Emer Ni Gallachoir Termon
4   Roisin Rogers Roisin Nic Ruairi N.Mhuire
5   Niamh Carr Niamh Nic Ghiolla Cheara Milford
6   Nicole McLaughlin Nicole Nic Lochlainn Termon
7   Treasa Doherty Treasa Ni Dhochartaigh Carndonagh
8   Katy Herron Cait Ni hEarain Glenfin
9   Evelyn McGinley Eibhlin Nic Fhionnghaile Naomh Micheal
10   Karen Guthrie Karen Guthrie Glenfin
11   Kate Keeney Cait Ni Chainaigh Bredagh
12   Amy Boyle Carr Amy O Bhaoil Nic Ghiolla Cheara N. Conaill
13   Niamh Hegarty Niamh Ni hEigeartaigh Moville
14   Geraldine McLoughlin Gearodain Nic Lochlainn Termon
15   Shannon McGroddy Sionainn Nic Rodai Na Dunaibh

Tyrone team: 

1 (GK)   Shannon Lynch ​Seanán Ní Loingsigh Mna Na Deirge
2   Christiane Hunter  Crístíona Nic Fhiachra Mná Naomh Éana
3   Joanne Barrett ​Siobhán Ní Bhairéad Droim Ratha
4   Caoileann Conway Caoileann Ní Chonnbhui Sperrin Og
5   Slaine McCarroll Sláine Nic Chearbhaill     Naomh Mhíc Airtain
6   Niamh McGirr              Niamh Nic A’ Gheairr     Naomh Mhíc Airtain
7   Emma Brennan Éama Ní Bhraonáin Trí Leac
8   Emma Jane Gervin Éama Sinéad Ní Ghairbhin Aodh Ruadh
9   Neamh Woods ​Neamh Ní Chonchoille Droim Ratha
10   Niamh Hughes Niamh Nic Aoidh Aodh Ruadh
11   Maria Canavan ​Maria Ní Ceannubháin              Aireagal Chiarain
12   Aoibhinn McHugh Aoibheann Nic Aoidh Achadh Uí Aráin
13   Niamh O’Neill ​Niamh Nic Néill Sperrin Og
14   Meabh Mallon ​Meabh Ní Mhealláin Aodh Ruadh
15   Caitlin Kelly Caitlin Ní Cheallaigh Ceapach


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs