Team news: 4 changes for Dublin, same again for Cavan ahead of Lannleire clash

Group 4, Round 2:

Cavan v Dublin; Lannleire GFC, Dunleer, 2pm (B Rice). 

FRESH from landing a 7th straight TG4 Leinster senior title, Dublin now train their sights on a successful All-Ireland defence.

As manager Mick Bohan shuffles his pack, there are four changes to the team that lined out in the provincial decider against Westmeath, as Niamh Collins, Lauren Magee, Carla Rowe and Oonagh Whyte are drafted into the starting line-up for the clash with Cavan in Dunleer.

Deirdre Murphy, Sinead Goldrick, 2017 Players’ Player of the Year Noelle Healy and Hannah O’Neill started against Westmeath at Dr. Cullen Park in Carlow but are held in reserve on this occasion.

The big prize at stake for Dublin is the Brendan Martin Cup in September and if they could successfully defend the title, it would mark the first time in the county’s history that back-to-back senior crowns were secured.

There’s a lot of football to be played between now and then, however, and Cavan need the win after losing to Mayo last weekend.

Manager James Daly has gone with an unchanged team for the meeting with Dublin, and the Breffni girls will start as huge underdogs.

Dublin team: 

1 Ciara Trant St Brigids
2 Martha Byrne Cuala
3 Sinead Finnegan Fingallians
4 Laura McGinley Naomh Barrog
5 Siobhan McGrath Thomas Davis
6 Niamh Collins Foxrock Cabinteely
7 Leah Caffrey Na Fianna
8 Lauren Magee Kilmacud Crokes
9 Olwen Carey Thomas Davis
10 Carla Rowe Clann Mhuire
11 Niamh McEvoy St Sylvesters
12 Lyndsey Davey Skerries Harps
13 Oonagh Whyte Clann Mhuire
14 Sinead Aherne St Sylvesters
15 Nicole Owens St Sylvesters

Cavan team: 

1 Evelyn Baugh Lurgan
2 Rachael Doonan Templeport
3 Gráinne McGlade Arva/Killeshandra
4 Joanne Moore Lacken
5 Sinead Greene Templeport
6 Laura Fitzpatrick St Finbarrs
7 Sinead O ‘Sullivan Lacken
8 Nessa Byrd Crosserlough
9 Donna English Arva/Killeshandra
10 Catriona Smith Killygarry
11 Aisling Maguire Templeport
12 Catherine Dolan Lurgan
13 Aishling Sheridan Mullahoran
14 Bronagh Sheridan Drumlane
15 Ciara Finnegan Crosserlough


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs