U-16 Munster Championship WATERFORD v TIPPERARY 1st Rd.



Waterford started their U-16 Munster championship campaign last Saturday with a superb victory over a determined Tipperary at Bushy Park with a final scoreline of 2-18 to 1-5.It was a beautiful hot day at Bushy Park, as Michelle McGrath and Ruth Kirwan started at midfield for the throw in. From this start, Waterford put pressure on Tipperary with the reward being a well taken point from wing forward Emma Gallagher after just 35 secs. Another couple of points from full forward Ashling O’Donnell and centre forward Marie Hannigan (Captain) brought the score to 0-3 to 0-0 in Waterford’s favour. Then came a moment that could of changed the balance of play.
Tipperary, who even though had no score to show for all their effort, made a move up the right hand side, got the ball to their forward who had only the goalie to beat, the shot was blasted in but only the skill of Marian Hogan (Waterford’s No1) saved the shot and put it out for a 45. Cornerback Edel Kirwan cleared the resulting play and Waterford was able to bring the ball to the other end. Then came the story of missed chances. Waterford was attacking and hit the crossbar once and then the upright and at the other end Tipperary had 2 wides. Ruth made a great run to feed the ball to Ashling O’Donnell who put the ball over to make the scoreline 4 points to no score. It was Tipp’s turn now, but their accuracy was a lot to be desired with 2 more wides, one from a free. But they did manage to score a point.
Waterford bounced back with Ashling O’Donnell making a great run and shooting only to hit the crossbar, with an opportunistic Corner Forward Sinead Coffey ever ready, she buried the ball into the net to bring the score to 1-4 to 0-1. Tipp answered the challenged with a shot that beat Marian Hogan to leave Tipp with a 3-point deficit. It must be said that Tipp put a lot of pressure on, and only for the Waterford backs (Edel Kirwan, Charlotte Raher, Nora Dunphy, Orla Kearney, Eibhlis Cooney and Eva Lacey) the scoreline would be different. 2 more points from Waterford’s Michelle McGrath and Marie Hannigan saw The Decies County edge away and it was at this point that we saw the very hard working left wing back Eva Lacey make way for Gillian Moore. Marie Hannigan took the last point for Waterford of this half, Tipp who scored from a free equated this. Emma Gallagher was very unlucky when she hit the post when taking a free herself. The score then stood at 1-07 Waterford 1-02 Tipperary with the Decies having 3 wides and the Premier County having one more at 4.
If it was the backs that made the difference in the 1st half (special mention of Nora Dunphy who played with the heart of a lion), it was the forwards at the start of the 2nd half with everyone of them putting full pressure on Tipp from the kick outs especially Michelle McGrath who had great inter action with Gillian Moore and Louise Ryan. Waterford scored 1-06 before Tipp got a point, Louise Ryan, Ashling, Eibhlis Cooney, Patricia Cunningham and Emma (from a free) got the points with Emma also getting a well-taken goal. This gave us a scoreline of 2-13 to 1-02. Tipp replied with a point but Emma Gallagher showed the benefits of all the training they had done by turning her marker and sprinting off to pass the ball to Ashling O’Donnell who pointed.
Points were exchanged when Tipp got a free and Ashling did the same for Waterford. Emma nearly got a 3rd goal but the Tipp keeper saved it. Further points from Sinead Coffey, Marie Hannigan (who exemplified what a Captains Role should be), Ruth Kirwan and Louise Ryan brought the final score for Waterford to 2-18, Sinead Coffey made way for Emma Morrissey who from the start attacked as if she had been there from the beginning. Tipp added 0-1 to record a final score of 1-05. The wides in this half were Waterford 2 Tipp 1.

Waterford Team:Marian Hogan, Edel Kirwan, Charlotte Raher, Nora Dunphy, Orla Kearney, Eibhlis Cooney, Eva Lacey, Ruth Kirwan, Michelle McGrath, Patricia Cunningham, Marie Hannigan, Emma Gallagher, Louise Ryan, Ashling O’Donnell, Sinead Coffey, Gillian Moore, Emma Morrissey,Fionnula Breathnach, Orla Hickey, Ashling Lynch, Deidre Duff, Lorraine McCarthy, Jenny Murphy, Aoife Nagle, Sióbháin Walsh, Eileen Hickey, Stacey Whelan, Siobháin Nielsen, Kristina O’Connell, Roisin Fahey, Claire Halpin. textfield2: Kevin Preston

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs