2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

10 TG4 All-Ireland Final survivors, twin sisters, and O'Brien as skipper for Cork's Lidl NFL Division 1 clash with Galway

WITH Doireann O’Sullivan not in the Cork matchday squad for their Lidl National League Division 1 opener against Galway in Mallow on Saturday (1.0), manager Ephie Fitzgerald has named goalkeeper Martina O’Brien as team captain.

O’Brien is one of nine players who started in the 2018 TG4 All-Ireland Final loss to Dublin, who are named to line out from the throw-in against the visiting Tribeswomen.

Shauna Kelly, Hannah Looney, Ashling Hutchings, Emma Spillane, Melissa Duggan, Aine O’Sullivan, Libby Coppinger, Eimear Scally and Orla Finn are included in an impressive Cork line-up, while Niamh Cotter makes a welcome return to the set-up.

Twin sisters Eimear and Daire Kiely, from Valley Rovers, are named in the Cork starting team, along with other former All-Ireland Minor A medallists, Ciara McCarthy and Laura O’Mahony.

Opponents Galway line out with nine players who started against Dublin in last year’s TG4 All-Ireland semi-final defeat – Fabienne Cooney, Sarah Lynch, Charlotte Cooney, Aine McDonagh, Louise Ward, Olivia Divilly, captain Tracey Leonard, Roisin Leonard and Leanne Coen.

Emer Flaherty, 2004 All-Ireland medallist and two-time All Star, confirmed her retirement from inter-county football this week.

Cork team: 

1 Martina O’Brien Clonakilty
2 Shauna Kelly Araglen Desmonds Bui
3 Hannah Looney Aghada
4 Ashling Hutchings Fermoy
5 Emma Spillane Bantry Blues
6 Melissa Duggan Dohenys
7 Daire Kiely Valley Rovers
8 Ciara McCarthy St. Valentine’s
9 Aine O’Sullivan Beara
10 Eimear Kiely Valley Rovers
11 Niamh Cotter Beara
12 Laura O’Mahony O’Donovan Rossa
13 Libby Coppinger St. Colum’s
14 Eimear Scally Eire Og
15 Orla Finn Kinsale

Galway team: 

1 Dearbhla Gower Corofin
2 Eimile Gavin Claregalway
3 Sarah Lynch Naomh Anna Leitir Mor
4 Fabienne Cooney Claregalway
5 Shauna Molloy St Furseys
6 Charlotte Cooney Claregalway
7 Bronagh Murphy St Marys, Killererin
8 Aine McDonagh Maigh Culinn
9 Louise Ward Kilkerrin Clonberne
10 Olivia Divilly Kilkerrin Clonberne
11 Tracey Leonard Corofin
12 Megan Glynn Claregalway
13 Mairead Seoighe An Fhairche/Clonbur
14 Roisin Leonard Corofin
15 Leanne Coen Corofin

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs