The LGFA National Volunteer Awards were initiated in 2017 to recognise the contribution of amazing volunteers across the country. Below are the list of winners to date:


Category 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021
Young Volunteer Of the Year Denis Ring – Knocknagree, Cork Niamh Fox – Dromin-Athlacca Banogue, Limerick Eoin Delaney – Crettyard, Laois Sandra O’Donoghue – Rosscarbery, Cork Chloe Callaghan – Termon, Donegal
Local Journalist of the Year Kieran McCarthy – Southern Star Darren Kelly – Galway Bay FM Ger McCarthy – Cork Evening Echo Ian Cooney – Roscommon Herald Derrick Lynch – Clare FM
PRO of the Year Aisling Clery – Leinster Donal Fitzpatrick – Kildare John McDermott – Galway Peter O’Leary – Cork Élena Byrne – Dunamaggin , Kilkenny
Club Coach of the Year Marie Egan – Kilmihil, Clare Jess Brennan – Blessington, Wicklow George Leetch – St Nathy’s, Sligo Colin Kenny – Naomh Ciaran, Offaly Bart Gilmartin – Old Leighlin, Carlow
School Coach of the Year Laura Bannon – St Dominic’s, Belfast John Kennedy – Glenamaddy, Galway Ciara Marley – St Catherine’s, Armagh Conor Maguire – Loreto College, Cavan Fidelma Quinn – Moate Community School, Westmeath
Club Committee Officer of the Year N/A N/A Shirley Doody – Kerins O’Rahillys, Kerry Helen Clarke – An Caisleán Glas agus Sperrin Óg, Tyrone Carolyn Mullane – Passage West, Cork
County/Provincial Officer of the Year Siobhan Condon – Munster Nora Fealy – Kerry Geraldine Heverin – Galway Sinead Reel – Armagh Cormac McNally

– Roscommon

International Volunteer of the Year N/A N/A Ciara Lane – Calgary Chieftains, Canada Clodagh Harris – RAK Ropairí, UAE Eva Scanlon –

Tir Chonaill Gaels, London

Hall of Fame Award N/A Phillip O’Hare – Down Michael Ryan – Ballymacarbry, Waterford Kathleen Kane – St. Nathy’s, Sligo Mary Hernon – Milltown, Galway
Lulu Carroll Award Sheena Byrne – Kilcock, Kildare Edel Conway – Doonbeg, Clare Maggie Skelton – Tyrone Mikey Hyland – Shanahoe, Laois Kathleen Colreavy – Naomh Mearnóg, Dublin

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs