2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

2008 O Neills Dublin Ladies Gala Night


The Annual O’Neill’s Dublin Ladies Gala Awards night took place in the Castleknock Country House Hotel on Friday Night Last. New Chairperson Camillus Kilpatrick (Naomh Olaf) opened proceedings in front of a packed house by welcoming the invited Guests Helen O’Rourke (CEO Cumann Peil  Gael Na mBan) Danny O’Connor (Dublin Men’s County Board) Cormac Farrell (O’Neill’s) and Former player and Guest host. for the evening Joanne Cantwell.He also thanked O’Neill’s for their continued sponsorship and support of the awards evening.

The first presentation of the evening was to Seamus McKenna of Foxrock/Cabinteely in recognition of their magnificent achievement of winning the Vhi All Ireland Junior Club title in 2007.This Was followed by a presentation to Brian Powell of Scoil Ui Chonail the manager ot our All Ireland winning Under 14 team in recognition of their achievement.

Following the dinner Our Excellent host Joanne Cantwell spoke of the huge achievement of all the players in the room and called on our Minor Manger Dave Cullen (Lucan Sarsfields) to introduce his team to be  presented with their Minor Leinster Championship Winning Medals as well as their All Ireland Runners up Medals. After thanking all involved with his team he announced the following awards recipients

Bernice Jones Moore (Dublin Children’s Officer), Kathleen Colreavy (Distinguished Contribution Awards Winner 2007), Patricia Monahan ( National Fixtures Officer) and Joanne Cantwell ( RTE Sports).

Player of the Year                      Lyndsey Davey (Skerries Harps)
Players Player of the Year       Sinead Goldrick (Foxrock/Cabinteely)

Next up was Senior B Paul McLoughlin (Raheny) to introduce the Senior B Development Squad to be presented with their All Ireland Runners Up Medals and after thanking all involved with his team he announced the following awards recipients

Players Player of the Year         Aisling Farrelly   (Ballyboden St Enda’s)
Player of the Year                       Suzanne Murray  (Round Towers Clondalkin)

This was a particularly special night for the Murray family as Suzanne’s twin brother Derek was part of the Dublin Men’s Senior Team who defeated Longford in the O’Byrne Cup final in Parnell Park on Friday Night.

Finally it was the turn of Senior manger Gerry McGill to introduce his team to receive their Suzuki National League winning Medals. Again after thanking all involved Gerry announced the following awards recipients

Players Player of the Year          Denise Masterson (Ballymun Kichams)
Player of the Year                        Sinead Ahearn    (St Sylvester’s)

Our host then thanked all the team Managers and management teams for the huge effort the had put in and wished them all the best for the coming season.


This was the final award of the evening on hand to present it was last years recipient Patrica Monahan who announced that this years winner was Kathleen Colreavy (Naomh Mearnog). Kathleen’s involvement with Dublin ladies football has spanned many years. She held the position of county Secretary And Assistant Secretary over the years as well as being Liaison Officer for the County minor and Senior Teams. Last year as well as being Assistant Secretary she was a selector and vital part of the Senior B management team. Known throughout the County Kathleen has always been available to help in any way she can, always done in the friendliest of manners. She has also been a huge part in the success of ladies football in her beloved Naomh Mearnog Club where her husband Michael has managed many teams and her two sons Brendan and Ronan Play Senior football and her two daughters Sinead and Orla play senior ladies football something  which she immensely proud of .CEO, Helen O’Rourke also paid tribute to Kathleen for the work she does in particular the All Ireland Sevens which takes place in Mearnog every year and Chairperson Camillus Kilpatrick also thanked Kathleen for organising yet another fabulous awards night.
Nearly every person present in the room has dealt with Kathleen over the years and were all delighted to see her receive this much deserved award which was shown by the standing ovation received when it was announced. We thank sincerely Kathleen and the Colreavy family for all they have done for Dublin Ladies football.

Finally Camillus thanked our host for the evening Joanne Cantwell for the fabulous job she did on the night. He also thanked everybody for coming and wish continued success to everybody involved with Dublin Ladies football.


Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs