2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Aisling McGing Final

The Aisling McGing Final

The Aisling McGing Final will be played this Saturday as a curtain raiser to the Bord Gáis Energy U/21 All Ireland Hurling Championship semi-final between Clare and Galway.


The Aisling McGing Memorial Cup was established in 2007 when the Championship structure was remodelled adopting a three tier system where all 32 counties competed in either the Senior, Intermediate or Junior championship.


The new competition was created for the second string sides of the stronger counties and since its inception only two teams have contested the Aisling McGing final – Cork and Dublin.


Cork won the inaugural competition in 2007 beating Dublin in the final. The same two sides contested the 2008 final and again it was the Rebelettes who claimed the title. The dominance of this competition by these two teams continue as Cork and Dublin contest this Saturday’s final for the third consecutive year.


Dublin will fancy their chances this year having topped the league table ahead of Cork. When the two sides met in Westmanstown in April the game ended in a draw and Dublin kicked on from there with victories over Kildare, Galway and Mayo.


The Dubs accounted for Kildare a second time at the semi-final stage to book their place in the final while Cork cruised past Galway to set up this annual showdown for silverware. TG4 will broadcast the game live from Semple Stadium.


As the second string sides strive for honors so too do their senior counterparts as both Dublin and Cork are in action this weekend in the TG4 All Ireland Senior Championship.


Dublin take on Kerry and Cork play Kildare in the last two quarter-finals of the Senior Championship. Leinster champions Dublin are expected to advance to the final four while Kildare will be up against it to halt the progress of the defending champions.


Both games are being broadcast live by TG4 and the draw for the semi-finals will take place following the Cork/Kildare game.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs