2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

All the latest news and results from Cork

First major senior Trophy for Rockbán
Rockbán 2-10 Rockchapel 0-13

Rockbán took their first ever senior trophy, when they
had an exciting win over Rockchapel in a thrilling game
of football at Mourneabbey on Sunday. This win continues
the fairytale story of the club. Founded in 1997 the club
competed at adult level for the first time in 1999. In 2000
the club won the Co Junior B title in 2001 the Co Munster
and All-Ireland Junior championship, in 2001 the Co Munster
and All-Ireland Intermediate title and now its first Senior

The first half was close and exciting with a Valerie Mulcahy
goal the decisive score, giving them a 1-3 to 0-5 interval
lead. Rckchapel fought back in the 2nd half and prompted
by their star player Regina Curtin who scored 6 points in
all, they led by a point entering the last 10 minutes, then
Valerie Mulcahy struck for another goal and try as they
might Rockchapel could not get back. Rockbán’s defence held
out for a historic win.

Best for Rockbán were Elaine Harte, Shona Hanrahan, Deirdre
Foley, Niamh Keohane Louise Crowley, Catriona Foley, Valerie
Mulachy, Sile Burns and Claire Conway. While Mairead McCarthy,
Marie O’Connor, Brid Stack, Norita Kelly Regina Curtin,
Sinead O’Reilly and Deirdre O’Sullivan caught the eye for

Rockbán: Valerie Mulcahy 2-0. Síle Burns 0-4 Claire Conway.
0-3, Therese Howard 0-2, Catriona Foley 0-1 Rockchapel:
Regina Curtin 0-6 Catherine Stack 0-2 Jacqueline O’Connor
0-2 Teresa O’Sullivan 0-2 Sinead O’Reilly 0-1

Elaine Harte, Catherine Drinan, Shona Hanrahan,
Mary O’Keefe Aine Geaney, Niamh Keohane, Deirdre Foley,
Louise Crowley, Catriona Foley, Elaine Casey, Valerie Mulcahy,
Mary White, Claire Conway, Sile Burns, Therese Howard. Ciara
Murphy, Denise Murphy. Elaine Murphy, Jessica Shine, Niamh
Ahern, Audrey O’Mahony, Eilis Foley, Niamh Dilworth, Fiona
Buckley, Ann O’ Brien.

Rockchapel: Cathy Forrest, Mairead McCarthy, Marie
O’Connor, Gobnait Murphy, Catriona Kelly, Brid Stack, Norma
Kelly, Norita Kelly, Sinead O’Reilly, Deirdre O’Sullivan,
Regina Curtin, Carmel O’Reilly, Teresa O’Sullivan, Jacqueline
O’Connor, Catriona Stack, Muireann Stack.

Div 3 Co League Final.
Mourneabbey 1-7. St Vals B 1-4.

Played at Donoughmore also on Sunday a young Mourneabbey
team took the Div 3 title with a hard earned win over St
Vals second string.

Co Minor Semi-Final.
Beara 4-10 Dromtariffe 4-8
In a close exciting game Beara just the better of the recent
Munster Minor blitz winners Dromtariffe, getting home with
2 points to spare. They now meet St Vals in the final. Carrigtohill
take on Watergrasshill in the Co B Final. The last 2 finals
of the year in Cork.

Annual Dinner.

More than 300 people will gather at the Parkway Hotel in
Dunmanway on Friday night next to celebrate Corks outstanding
year. Cork won the Suzuki Div of the National league, They
were runners up in Division 3. The Seniors lost out by a
point to eventual Champions Kerry in the Munster Semi Final.
The Minors won the Munster and All-Ireland crowns, while
the under 14’s won the MUnster and All-Ireland titles for
the 4th year in a row, as well as taking the All-Ireland
blitz. Special guests at the Dinner will be National President
Geraldine Giles and Cork Players Sean óG O Hailpín and Graham
Canty. It should be a marvellous night of celebration.

All-Ireland Intermediate Semi-Final.
The eagerly awaited All-Ireland Intermediate semi-Final
between Naomh Abán and Kilmoyvee Shamrocks of Mayo takes
place at Ballyvourney on Sunday next at 1pm. With Donoughmore,
Senior and Gabriel Rangers Junior, through to their finals
on Sunday week, the Gaeltacht girls will be aiming to make
it a hatrick. They should have huge home support, with hopefully
a big contingent from the clubs in Cork. That home support
could very well swing the tie in their favour We look forward
to a great game.

Rena honoured in Dublin.
The first ever TG4/O’Neills, banquet for Ladies Football
All Stars took place at City West Hotel in Dublin on Saturday
night. While All Stars have been named since 1980, this
is the first time that they have been honoured with a banquet
and official presentation. Forty five players were nominated
for awards and the top 15 were announced on Saturday, in
the presence of over 500 people. President Mary McAleese
attended the gala banquet and presented the awards. While
there was no Cork player among the 45 nominated there was
joy and hope for the future with Rena Buckley taking one
of the 4 provincial awards for the young player of the year.
Rena a native of Berrings and a member of the Donoughmore
club has enjoyed phenomenal success since she has taken
up the sport. Winner of many National medals in cross-country,
she made an immediate impact in Ladies Football and already
at 16 years of age she has 2 under 14 All-Ireland medals
2 under 16 medals and one All-Ireland medal, one minor medal
one Senior Club All-Ireland medal with Donoughmore, when
she starred in the final at just 14 and on Sunday week she
has a chance of another when she plays in the All-Ireland
club final. She was also a member of the Cork Senior team
which won the Suzuki Div 2 National League title earlier
this year. Also an accomplished camogie player she has 2
All-Ireland MInor medals to her credit. Skilful mature and
very focused for a girl of such tender years, Rena has accomplished
much in a short space oft time and certainly has a great
future ahead of her.

Fr. Liam Kelleher PRO 087-8516984

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs