2024 TG4 All-Ireland Finals tickets

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney retain minor Title

Arklow Geraldines Ballymoney retain minor Title

The curtain came down on the Ladies GAA scene last Sunday when the final title for 2008 was determined. The holder AGB who had a narrow 3 point win in the semi-final secured an emphatic victory over West Wicklow on a scoreline of 11-6 to 1-2.

The game as a contest proved to be a disappointment for the large crowd gathered in Avondale as the girls from West Wicklow never got into gear.West Wicklow which comprised of girls from Valleymount, St Nicholas, Baltinglass and Blessington has a decisive victory over An Tochar in the Semi- Final and a close event was anticipated.

The AGB girls having had their wake-up call in the semi-final went into the game extremely focused and from the very start of the game they dictated proceedings. Claire Kavanagh and Orla Byrne controlled the middle of the field, while the forwards played with great cohesion and sparkle.AGB led at half-time 6-5 to 0-1, with Arklow’s scores coming from the full forward line of Kayleigh Crammond, Aife Kavanagh and Erinne Murphy. The performance of these three girls, all of whom are under 14, rounded of a perfect year where they garnered national winners medals in the feile and at the all Ireland seven a side.

The second half continued with a similar pattern of events with Arklow dominant in most areas of the pitch. A particular feature was the mobility and interplay between the half-forwards, with Niamh Arthur, Shauna Fleming and Keelin Riley outstanding. The Arklow defence wasn’t under too much pressure but Nicole Kavanagh, Hannah Tew and Naomi Roche coped with any questions asked. They received great support from the half back line of Suzanne Tyrell, Rachael Byrne and Calvin Swart.

For West Wicklow Louise Coburn, Stephanie Doyle and Jackie Hanbridge worked very hard in a full back line that was under extreme pressure. Niamh Reid, Maolisa Nugent, Catherine Kavanagh and Laura Allen all had their moments and kept working hard to the very end. In the forwards, Amanda Caroll, Bridin Geoghegan and Sinead Fisher caught the eye.

Louise Allen, secretary of Wicklow Ladies Board presented the Allen Cup to AGB captain Keelin Riley. Keelin thanked the county board and complemented the West Wicklow team on their efforts. She also praised the endeavours of her team-mates stating that it was a joy to be involved in ladies football and she hoped to see them all involved again next year.

Arklow Team
Linda Dempsey, Nicole Kavanagh, Hannah Tew, Calvin Swart, Rachael Byrne, Suzanne Tyrell, Orla Byrne, Claire Kavanagh, Keelin Riley, Shauna Fleming, Niamh Arthur, Erinne Murphy, Aife Kavanagh, Kayleigh Crammond, Rebecca Condren, Melissa Keane, Katie Kindlon, Sam Kelly, Jessie McEleheron.
West Wicklow Team
Emma Olten, Louise Gibbons, Stephanie Doyle, Jennifer Gibbons, Niamh Reid, Maolisa Nugent, Jackie Hanbridge, Kathryn Kavanagh, Laura Allen, Bridin Geoghegan, Amanda Carroll, Shauna Richardson, Sinead Fisher, Hazel O’Connor, Margaret Whelan.

Sign up to our email newsletter


Partners & Supporters





See all LGFAClubs